Sunday, October 25, 2015

Accidental Haitus #2: Sorry Guys!

I was horrible and didn't post for over a month because of my computer having viruses on it, and school is killing me right now.

I am going to attempt to post once a week at least from now on for as long as I can manage!

I love you all, whomever looks at this and I hope you guys can continue to read and enjoy my reviews!

- Cody Roecker

eARC Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Out October 2015)

I received an e ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)
Title: Illuminae
Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Page Count: 608
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Rating: 5/5 FOR SURE  Blurb:
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.



I have a feeling this will end up being one of the longest reviews I have written due to so many things needing to be said.

Illuminae is one of the most unique books I have EVER read in my entire time of existing. Not only is it so unique, but it is super duper crazy interesting!

I am not usually a science fiction kind of guy, but I think I will start reading more of it if any of it is even slightly reminiscent of this intensity and action and amazing writing!

The formatting of the book is very interesting and wonderful. I haven't heard of any book like it. (Do they even exist?)

This book has been hyped about for so long, that I of course wanted it desperately. Getting approved made my day.  But, of course I tried not to get my hopes up too much, because I didn't want to hate it if it wasn't as great as I was expecting... Once I started it, I was immediately hooked! I found myself reading during meals, between commercials for shows I watch. Every single moment I could this book was being read.

It starts off straight into the action. Kady and Ezra describing the series of events that took place, THROUGH INTERVIEWS. IT IS SO COOL. It makes reading it easier and more like reading a text which helps with our short attention span nowadays. It doesn't stop there, later in the story we get Kady becoming this crazy hacker girl and holy cow is she amazing.
We get to meet a series of characters that are very flawed and live on these various ships, Alexander, Copernicus and Hypatia.Ibelieve they are ships, that can be confusing at times.) They are also being chased by another ship called the Lincoln, which is controlled by BeiTech, one of the mega-corporations. After trying to destroy Kerenza, they are now chasing, with the intent to kill, these other ships.

The profanitycould be a bit excessive in spots, but it fits the characters so well that I didn't find it bothering me too much.The Ebook version is also a bit annoying, but it's because this book is written for printed copies and needs to be that way. (Reading it on an ereader doesn't make it less enjoyable of a read just frustrating when you cannot see some of the words and such.)

Continuing with my thoughts on this book: WOW. There is so many things to say yet I am left speechless by this story. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff are freaking geniuses, I swear.

As I continue my thoughts as I read this book I have decided that I should probably break this up into categories to further explain my thoughts and organize them better.

Plot: The entire storyline is so thought out and complicated, that it is impossible to hate it. Every main plot point, and side plot point matters. When some of the characters perish, you care, you feel for them, and those who survived. The Phobos disease is so incredibly interesting, and it is such a great aspect to this story as it truly motivates almost everything that happens. As I am nearing the end of the book, the action does not stop here. It is still intense even in the last few pages. Just, woah, Intensity from beginning to end. The last few pages really leave it open for the next book, and makes me all the more excited. 20 pages before that I would have been content with it as a standalone, despite a few unanswered questions that were minor. I am SO SO SO excited for the next installment as I know it is going to be absolutely phenomenal.

Characters: Kady is a total bad ass, with pink hair. She is totally a nerdy girl and I love it. Ezra is so freaking inappropriate, but we all love him. and freaking AIDAN OH MY GOD. AIDAN could very well be my favorite character do the complexities of him (is that right? AIDAN is a computer.. whatever)
The ominous way he speaks is enthralling. Also, AIDAN speaks like a human, proving that AI's can possibly have emotion, or at least learn what certain emotions should feel like. It's very interesting.
James McNulty is one of my favorite side characters to this entire adventure. Just everything about him is wonderful. He has his inappropriate moments with Ezra, but whatever.

All the characters are extremely well written. They are multi-dimensional and I love that. AIDAN is officially the most interesting character I have read in a long time and he just intrigues me to no end. Just wow.

Writing: The way this is written is full of intrigue and suspense and action like no other book I have ever read.The unique formatting allows for anyone to be interested in different sections.. From the military reports which are informational, to the IM's which are hysterical, to AIDAN's POV which is both creepy and sweet at the same time. The interviews were interesting at the beginning. Syra Boll's POV was also interesting on Hypatia. Everything Kady ever expressed always caught my attention. There is one line in particular where she says that her therapist tells her she needs to talk about her feelings, and she proceeds to say that she has a heart of stone, of course and doesn't have them I definitely chuckled. This book is intense, but it has its hilarity inside and sprinkled in which eases the emotional pain that it can cause. I adore this books style, and everything inside.

Weeks after reading this, everything is still fresh in my brain, down to some of the minuscule details that are shown. I am still gushing over my love for Kady, and the misunderstood AIDAN. I cannot get over the quality of thought put into this book, it is just so well thought out.

Please read this book guys, seriously. I'm not sure this is the best book I have ever read,but it is one of the best books I have read in a LONG time.

I keep coming back to this and its intense beauty, my love continues all the same. I need everyone to experience the perfection.

Saturday, September 5, 2015

Book Review: The Golden Heart and The Gray Blade by M N M Abbott

Books: The Golden Heart and The Gray Blade
Author: M N M Abbott
Page Count: 508 and 384
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Ratings: 3.5 (the longer it goes since I read it the more I lower it) and 4.5 (Hopefully it stays this way IT WAS SO GOOD)


The sequel is not as good as the first, but after 70 pages, it becomes just as good as the first. The action, the villains, the humor, it's all great. I really appreciate her writing.

The characters are really my favorite part, they are so intricate and complex. I always find myself loving their faults.

The third book improves upon the faults of the second. I loved it. The introduction of  the final warrior and the battles that took place after were spectacular in so many ways.

I can't say too much about it, except I will let everyone know that EVERY WARRIOR IS MENTIONED IN THE FIRST BOOK AND IT IS SO COOL.



The Golden Heart: Second of the Holy Hound Trilogy #2


The Gray Blade: Last of the Holy Hound Trilogy

I truly appreciate that she has titled each chapter, because not often do we find this in books these days.

I highly recommend these books. They are self-published, so be-warned for occasional misspellings and grammatical errors, but they are still amazing.


Tuesday, September 1, 2015

DNF eARC Review: Reawakened by Colleen Houck (Out August 2015)

I received an e ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Reawakened
Author: Colleen Houck
Page Count:
Genre: Young Adult, Mythology, Egyptian
Rating: DNF When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification. 
And she really can't imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe.
But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world. 
From New York Timesbestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.

Review: I have only read Tigers Curse by Colleen Houck, but never continued with the series despite my love for the novel. The concept of this book was intriguing to me because I absolutely love mythology. Egyptian mythology is especially interesting and starting this I was very very excited.

As I begin, I am noticing the drastic switch between the cool, interesting mythology, to the modern day society. This reminds me a lot of Tigers Curse and what the prologue entails for the rest of the novel. I like the way Houck did this in her last piece I read by her, but really? You could be a little more original than that.

This character is immediately kinda likable (but really not at all), because she seems to be given everything she wants, but at a price. She isn't perfect, and she already seems to have her own problems, right from the beginning. This should be very interesting.

This mummy is crazy! He's a prince too? WHAT? So, Lilliana will probably end up falling in love with him. I'm calling it when I have barely started the story because it's Colleen Houck and it makes sense, I mean have you read Tigers Curse?

I'm interested to see how Houck combines these two world and if they collide well or not.

Update: 8/15
This book has taken me FOREVER to read. I keep trying, and getting bored and switching to another book because I am desperately trying to avoid a reading slump. I have lots I have to read for school (which I am almost done with! WOOT WOOT) and a slump would be horrendous.

Update: 9/1
I keep updating this because I really want to read this but every time I begin I put it down for something better. Will I ever finish this? Time shall tell, it is on my TBR for September but so are a LOT of ARCs. I'm publishing this now, because I don't know if I'll ever finish it....


Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Book Review: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief
Title: The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Page Count: 350
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Rating: 5/5 Stars


It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.


The last of my required reads, for now, except for some poetry! I am so incredibly stoked to be finished with these so I can get back to reading things I want to!

This is less of a review and more of just spouting information:

Consensus: There is very little I can say, without spoiling everything, because this book is very easy to spoil. But, Zusak wrote a masterpiece, that really opens our eyes to what living in Nazi Germany was truly like. He gave us a glimpse into the lives of everyday people, that broke the mold that was set for that time.

Liesel Meminger, is deep, and meaningful and I grew to love and care for her as she stole books, and read to others.

Hans Hubberman is like a lovable giant, who you cannot help but adore.

Rosa, despite her faults is beautiful in her quirky sort of way.

Rudy holds a special place in my heart, rock on Jesse Owens.

Max, sweet sweet Max, is a joy, and a light in the dreary world, which is strange to think considering he is a Jew.

This book was dark, and had so much depth. The writing was superb and the characters were so real. I see why this book has received so much hype, because it is deserved.

The narration by Death was probably my favorite thing ever. It is incredibly unique, and it shows that Death isn't cruel.

Please, EVERYONE READ THIS BOOK. It has become one of my favorite books ever.

Friday, August 21, 2015

Mini Review: How to Read Literature Like A Professor by Thomas C. Foster

How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster
Title: How to Read Literature Like a Professor
Author: Thomas C. Foster
Page Count: 314
Genre: Nonfiction, education
Rating: 3/5 Stars

Short Review below:

Foster has a comedic voice in his descriptions, and pulls from a wide variety of literature that spans across time proving he is well-versed as a professor. That being said, I felt very often that he was shoving his opinion of different poets down my throat. For the most part, I enjoyed reading this, and what he had to say, It made me laugh, and kept me entertained through a good 75% of this.

 Then, He had us read 'The Garden Party' and I was bored for the rest of this book... It's sad. There is so much that goes into this, and then it falls flat.

I like the addition of the list of novels, plays, short stories, poems, movies etc in the back because it gives us a cohesive,challenging literature list which I will read from eventually!

Thank you, Thomas Foster for showing me new things, and helping me learn. I forgive you for being a little forceful at times.

For once, not a completely horrid required read. I learned something, and it didn't take the entire book to get there!

Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass Book 2)

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)

Title: Crown of Midnight
Author: Sarah J Maas
Page Count: 418
Genre:Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating: 5/5 Stars

Consensus: Celaena's badass nature is back, and better than ever in this thrilling sequel to the beloved Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. Maas weaves complex Fae lore into a kingdom in complete disarray reminiscent of a dictatorship. The love "triangle" is actually well written and the boys are someone you legitimately care about in the end. Maas wrote a sequel that improves upon the world building set forth in the first. Maas is the arising queen of YA fantasy, and is definitely one to watch.

AS THIS IS BOOK TWO I WILL WARN OF SPOILERS!!!!!!! Plus, It's hard to talk about this one without spoiling something.......

I have heard that Sarah J Maas' books get better as they go, so I'm expecting more for this than I did for Throne of Glass. Which I really really enjoyed. I'm excited to see how Celaena will fare with being the King's Champion.

This book begins after Celaena has begun her bidding for the King as his Champion. She must basically murder anyone he asks her too. Little does he know, she is not actually killing them. She is setting them free, allowing them that choice, be killed or change your name and be free. She learns as much information about each of them so she can use this to trick the king and learn more about plans to overthrow/rebel against the king.

Celaena returns in this book with more heart, already, I can see her love for Chaol and respect of his friendship growing. I admire her friendship with Nehemia who is incredibly intelligent and a great chat partner for Celaena. Chaol is as strong-witted and protective as ever. Dorian continues to overthink things and become jealous of Chaol as he gets closer to Celaena. Kaltain is in this (in the beginning as I'm writing this) story, which means she still has a role to be played. I'm predicting that she is being used, still, as the king's puppet.

I like the mystery of what Wyrdmarks mean, however, they freak me out every single time they are mentioned. I just feel icky when they are around because I sense great power from them and feel as if they can destroy everyone and everything.

Something I am questioning: Will Sarah J Maas always incorporate Fae lore into her stories? I'm intrigued to see if this will be a theme of all her novels or not. Time shall tell. So far, Throne of Glass series plus ACOTAR series. Two of them, both have Fae, but one has more. (Not that I don't like Fae but with such a great author, I would love to see her branch out. I would even love a contemporary for her, because I think it would be interesting.)

Crown of Midnight is fantastic at this point, and as the backstories form cohesively, I am enjoying it more and more.

The more I read the more I love this book and half way through, I AM SO ANGRY AND SAD AND FILLED WITH SO MANY EMOTIONS. WHY SARAH J MAAS WHY.

She (Being Sarah J Maas) killed someone, and I am angry, but I see why it had to happen. My emotions are going haywire with this one.

The book is getting continuously more intense, and my enjoyment is growing. The Wyrdmarks, Wyrdgates and everything related to the Wyrd both intrigue and frighten me, because they hold immense power.

The introduction of the Iron Witches was very well done and I appreciate the thought put into it.

The fighting between certain characters pain me, and I want it to stop.

By the end of this story, I loved it. Almost every minute of it. 

I cannot wait until I can buy Heir of Fire, because I don't ever want to stop living in this world.

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Book Review: Winger by Andrew Smith (Winger Book 1)

Winger by Andrew  Smith

Title: Winger
Author: Andrew Smith
Page Count: 439
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Rating: 5/5

Winger hooked me immediately, from the minute Ryan Dean spoke, I was ready for the ride of a lifetime. Little did I know how this ride would affect me.

Winger follows Ryan Dean West, a fourteen year old, who is also a junior in high school and is the starting winger for Pine Mountain's rugby team. PM is a private school for 'troubled youth' and rich kids. Ryan Dean stays in O-Hall (Opportunity Hall) with the delinquents for something he did the school year before.

Ryan Dean has to room with Chas Becker, only the biggest asshole in all of the rugby team.

Everything goes off into a roller coaster ride of mistakes Ryan Dean makes, and the consequences he must face to overcome them.

Ryan Dean is someone who I wouldn't be able to be around for too long. He is perverted, and almost egotistical, but not at the same time. He says how every girl is 'smoking hot' and is in love with his best friend Annie Altman.

Throughout the course of this book he makes mistake after mistake, tarnishing friendships of his own and of others. He flat out ruins a lot of lives. Despite all this, you cannot help but love the perverted sicko. Because he is a great friend, he has his moments as we all do, but he is wonderful.

Ryan Dean cares infinitely more than he will ever let on, and that is one of his greatest strengths in my opinion.

The other characters are wonderful. You have Joey, the captain of the rugby team, and he's gay. Which is mentioned a bazillion times. You love Joey. It's impossible not to love Joey. Joey is the level-headed guy in every situation, speaking up for everyone no matter the circumstances.

Seanie is a demented creepy stalker dude who likes to say perverted things so often that you  cannot help but cringe, but his heart is in the right place.

J.P, you cannot help but feeling bad for,

Annie is sweet as can be, and has a heart made of pure gold.

Megan is way more than she ever lets on, and Chas is as well.

All of these characters have multiple layers to them, and it is admirable.

THE STORYLINE. I laughed, I got uncomfortable, I pitied, I laughed some more, I cringed, I cried. I felt so many emotions on this ride, that I want everyone to read this.

It is more than just a typical high school story about finding love, finding yourself, and a coming-of-age story. Everyone needs to read this so they can experience what a good story is going to do, change your life, and your way of thinking.

If I say too much more, I will be spoiling it all... Except THE COMIC STRIPS. Were amazing! They were well executed and hilarious and perfect for Ryan Dean's character!

Winger is a masterpiece, and it is one of my favorite reads of this year. This book killed me in all the best ways. READ IT.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass Book 1)

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)
Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Page Count: 404
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating: 4.5
Blurb: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


While Reading:
I've wanted to read Throne of Glass for a LONG time. I finally started it when Booknerd Babes decided to do a read-along. I am SO glad I did. This world is immediately intriguing and the characters are multi-dimensional from the get go!

This is going to quickly become one of my favorite series of all time, I can already see it in the near future. I already want the other books in the series, and I am only 40 pages in. Call me crazy, but this book. Sarah J Maas everybody, is a wonderful genius who we all should love with all of our hearts.

Where do I even start with this book?

I have been trying to formulate my thoughts for quite a few days now, because there is a lot to think about.

Celaena Sardothien is a badass. She is arrogant, but also deeply self-concious and the fact that she has both, is interesting and different and I truly appreciate it.

Her backstory is deeply tragic and it adds an extra layer of depth to her character and her emotions.

After Finishing:
Now that I am done reading it, everything below will be filled with a hopefully more organized version of my thoughts as I was reading.

Throne of Glass follows Celaena Sardothien, Adarlan's Assassin, as she fights for her chance to become the King's Champion, allowing her access to freedom in the near future. She has spent the last year of her life in Endovier slaving away in the Salt Mines with other slaves from places such as Ellywe.

I love Celaena and how headstrong she is. She doesn't sacrifice her own beliefs for anything. She is in complete control of her decisions. (Well, most the time.) I like that she isn't just a badass, and that she has feelings as well. It is very easy to take someone and make them so powerful that they lose the human quality of imperfection. She has a heart, and a strong one at that, and despite all the hardships she has faced in her life she still finds room to be kind to others.

She formed a strong bond with Nehemia, Chaol, and Dorian. And I loved all of them. Her doubts of them were natural and warranted, and although I knew that she was overthinking things, it made perfect sense to me.

I absolutely adored Nehemia, literally the entire time. She is intelligent and cunning and willing to do whatever it takes to save her country from the King of Adarlan. Her kindness outshines everyone else, and she has an edge of mystery that I am enamored by.

Chaol was strong, and had his weak spots for those he cares about. He continually grow on me. His compassion for others, in the end, is something I admire greatly in him.

Dorian is just as sarcastic and arrogant as Celaena and how can I not like that? He is wonderful, and the Yulemas Ball was the sweetest freaking thing ever, just saying. I see in the future, him finally standing up to his father and I am excited for that.

The other characters I didn't develop a strong opinion about, good or bad, except for Kaltain Rompier. Who the entire time I wanted to punch in the face because she was annoying and selfish and I just really hated her. No more explanation than that,

The plotline dragged a little in places for me. I wanted more of a storyline about the different Tests because I find that aspect incredibly intriguing and when I didn't get that I was upset.

OH. I really like Pelor and Nox. Yeah.

Anyways, This book was great! The few problems I had were very uncommon and probably because this is a first book in a series, and more will be explained later. I had a problem with the fact we were advertised one thing and got just a little of that, with a whole lot of other things that weren't. (I totally loved most of the other stuff, I'm just saying.)

This book was very close to being a five-star book for me, but wasn't quite there. I am super excited to read Crown of Midnight though! :)

Sunday, August 9, 2015

Book Review: Obasan by Joy Kagawa

Title: Obasan
Author: Joy Kagawa 
Page Count: 320
Genre: Historical Fiction (with elements of truth from the Author)
Rating: 2.5 Stars 

Blurb: Based on the author's own experiences, this award-winning novel was the first to tell the story of the evacuation, relocation, and dispersal of Canadian citizens of Japanese ancestry during the Second World War.

Review: For my summer assignment for my AP Literature class, I was tasked to read a 400 page poetry book, 10 poems from a poet of my choosing that is alive, or died within the last 20 years, Literature like a Professor, and two books to compare and contrast.

This is the first of the books I must compare, and the other is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak (which I read when I was younger and liked but don't remember much of.)

I had been told many good and bad things about this book, and went in trying to ignore that.

Totally honest, I couldn't stand this book at the beginning, for the first six chapters I was forcing myself to read it. I didn't like the writing style, I didn't care about the characters, and it just wasn't something I would have normally continued reading. But alas, I needed to for an essay I have to write in September.

I continued, and became intrigued into this box Obasan and Naomi found in their attic. It contained letters and diaries and much more from Aunt Emily telling of her thoughts on many different political and domestic issues, which I found quite interesting. I am in love with history so this part of the story was perfect for me!

The letters went on for so long though, and they were heartfelt and emotional,yet too many of them it seemed.

This is a book that depicts the cruelty that Japanese-Canadian Internment was and does it justly. I am seeing how this book connects with The Book Thief because of the racism that both discuss. I find it quite eye-opening even if the writing can be bland.

As I continues reading it, I became more enveloped into these characters, and began caring about them. By the last five chapters I was engrossed and was actually enjoying it... But it took me over 80% of the book to feel that way.

Kagawa has written a strong story, but one that lacks entertainment of any kind. She could have found a way to make it more interesting, but instead settled for bland writing. The descriptions of different areas was great, and the imagery oh my goodness, one of the best I have read in a long time,but overall this just wasn't my book.

Friday, August 7, 2015

Personal Update: The Struggle with Summer Assignments

Today, I have finally started Obasan by Joy Kagawa. Let me tell you, it is a struggle to get through.

I only put 10 books on my TBR for this month, because I have to read Obasan and The Book Thief. These summer assignments are killing me. I am trying so hard to get through them, so I can read books that I want to, and be able to review for everyone that looks at my blog. I have been continually pushing back beginning them for almost a month now.

I know, I know, I am slightly crazy. How could you push back books for over a month? Well... WE ALL DO IT. The only difference here is I need to read these for my AP Literature class!

I also have to REWRITE the United States Constitution, and that is a bazillion times worse than the books I don't want to read.

So I'm procrastinating both by letting you guys know the pain I am going through. I promise to get a review up by next week, but I cannot promise anything.. It's hard guys... HELP ME.

Do you guys have any suggestions when trying to read something you don't want to, but have to?

Thanks everyone!

- Cody :)

Book Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (Grisha Book 1)

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)
Title: Shadow and Bone
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Page Count:368
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating:4.75/5 Stars
Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.


Thoughts and Review: (Because I like to write this as I read the book to capture my thoughts as they happen) I have been so excited for this book since I won it in a giveaway a couple months ago. I was so busy with other things, that I never picked it up. Immediately after starting it, I was angry with myself for putting it off for so long. 

The world building is so complex and I already know that there is so much to learn about this society, The Grisha, The Darkling, and everything in-between. This book is so exciting, and that's only the first chapter! 

As I continue to read this, I am continually intrigued with the world. It's been a long time since a book has been so interesting, with so many complexities and intricacies throughout. Bardugo takes these characters and these powers and all of these other characteristics and qualities and blends them together to create the Grishaverse. 

Alina Starkov, our main character, is already a bad-ass female heroine  who I know I am going to grow to love infinitely because she is strong, yet she has her weaknesses. I love how she crushes on Mal, and how it is portrayed in the beginning of the book. It is super realistic and cute. 

Instantly this book is action packed and a wild roller-coaster ride that you never want to get off from. Seriously, this is one of those books that you get hooked on. The darkness inside is already looming and gathering to become an incredibly dark read, If what I see happening in this book, is anything close to what actually happens, I am going to be incredibly happy. 

Dark books are my favorite, I love how authors can think so deep such as creating characters that are believable, and evil, or cruel,or whatever other dark quality they possess. 

I have heard that the books only get darker from here and my golly, yes, So excited.

Genya is a very kind soul so far, and I sense tragic happenings between her and the king. The way Bardugo mentions it through rumors scares me, because I pray that it is not true. I am intrigued by Zoya as she could be bitchy and she could change her ways; only time will tell.

The Apparat creeps me out, and sends chills up my spine. Throughout the story he has continued to give me chills. I have a really bad feeling about him.

the Darkling is someone I want to believe with everything he says, but I know that it's not possible. He scares me, but in a good way. I like his character a lot, it is very strong.

Baghra is so interesting and intriguing and I hope I see more of her later in the storyline.

Mal, when he returns to the story, saddens me, It hurts me, the pain is palpable. I hope that will change later.

I am rooting for Alina. I love her. She has her moments, but she is a very likable character despite the faults. The Sun Summoner thing is very interesting and I like it.

This book never ceases to be fast-paced. It moves along quite nicely. I'm loving the storyline.

After finishing it: I am in love, and totally rooting for Alina and Mal. I love them to pieces. I am hoping to see Baghra in the future, and Genya as well, although I am not sure if they are coming soon. Only time will tell.

Basically, I loved every minute of this book, and now I see what all the hype and the raving was about. I agree wholeheartedly, that this book deserves the hype it has been given. Leigh Bardugo is going to quickly become one of my favorite authors.

Now I am itching to buy Siege and Storm!!! I need book two! 

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Book Review: The One by Kiera Cass (The Selection Book 3)

The One (The Selection, #3)
Title: The One
Author: Kiera Cass
Page Count: 323
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian Romance
Rating:5/ 5 Stars

I have totally been on a Selection kick since beginning the series two days ago. The fact of the matter is, these books are so addicting. I am still shocked that I like them, but that is completely okay.

As I begin The One, I am excited to see how it all plays out and how Kiera Cass stretches something like this into a 300 page novel. It should be interesting. Here we go!

I am a little over half-way done and reflecting on what I feel so far.

I am positive that this is the best book in the series so far. I love everything that is going on. I like that America isn't afraid to get down and dirty, and is herself almost always.

I love that the Queen is more included in this book than she was in the first two.

I love the small character development for Celeste, no matter if it is slightly unrealistic, I am proud of it all the same.

I am so incredibly happy with how things are playing out.

I cannot stand King Clarkson. He aggravates me for so many reasons, but I don't want to spoil the actual book, so I cannot say why. But GAHHHHHH.

The Rebels are so interesting, and finally getting to learn more about them is nice as well, and I feel adds another layer to the politics created in this society. I'm very glad it is included and Cass did a great job.

America's doubts are not nearly as annoying in this book as in The Elite which makes me so incredibly happy.

The bonding 200 pages in, between the remaining girls is such a sweet and tender moment, that I think they really needed. It takes Queen Amberly's advice and actually puts it to use.

Loving America more and more as time goes on!!!

As far as critiques so far, I guess how simple the writing is? That isn't necessarily a bad thing but I have noticed it throughout. I think it fits the character, so its not too bad.

The truly most annoying thing, is the repetition of different paragraphs. I swear that I have seen the same paragraph in each book, at least twice. It varies by a few words, but I often have this feeling I am reading the same exact thing over and over again.

Page 222, is the page that killed me. I am upset, and sad, and just feeling horrible. Why Kiera Cass, why? I am going to continue reading,because this cannot be true. It's not okay.

70 pages later and my prediction comes true of a certain happening. I won't divulge what exactly, but it was expected and sad and tragic. I'm praying it changes within the next thirty pages because if it ends like this I will be so upset.

It gets better! I love me a happy ending, although it definitely wasn't happy for all.

This is the best book in the series by far, and I am very happy with its conclusion. I loved the story, and the people and how they grew in the end.

I can forgive Kiera Cass for her terrible evil, in killing some of my favorite characters, but still, it is okay in the end.

Book review: The Elite by Kiera Cass (The Selection Book 2)

The Elite (The Selection, #2)
Title: The Elite
Author: Kiera Cass
Page Count: 336
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian Romance
Rating: 3.75/5

After finishing the Selection, I immediately dived into The Elite, excited and ready for more after not being disappointed with the first one. These books are so fast-paced and such quick reads that I can finish them all in a day each easily.

As it began, I instantly saw how this book was going to be different than the first, in many ways. I already am enjoying the less of Aspen we see, as he is not my cup of tea.

I love Lucy (hah I'm funny) Seriously though. I love the depth of her character and how she has a storyline that is tragic, and it makes us love her more.

America can be super annoying. Super duper annoying. She is indecisive.

I like America's Dad though, and hope he stays safe. As with May, as I love her as well.
Only time will tell.

I'm writing this about 3/4 of the way into the book.

The military and government of this book and mystery behind it, is actually what intrigues me. It gives me more to look forward to than just whether America chooses Maxon and Maxon chooses her as well. I mean, c'mon. I'm pretty positive I know what happens, but that is okay.

I admire a lot of these characters more than I ever thought I would. I'm kinda glad that I had low expectations for these books because I like them a lot more because of that.

America has her moments, as does Maxon, and Aspen alike. The only characters I love wholeheartedly are Lucy and May.

I'm ready for Celeste to go away already, there has been no resolution of her character for me, and by this point it is to late to do anything to save her in my eyes.

I like the Queen.

I love the interactions between Italy and America. I think it adds a whole layer that wasn't there before.

The popularity ratings are very interesting, I thought that was clever.

I love the Philanthropy Projects and how that scene turned out. It really gave us a deeper understanding of the relationship between Maxon and his father.

Gregory's Diaries are one of the highlights of this book, and it made me like it so much more.

All in all, the whole concept with the rebels and fear they all must live in makes up for the annoying choices America makes, and the frustrating qualities of Maxon, and my inability to care for Aspen more than just a person I wish well. I obviously want Maxon and America to end up together. I see that happening, I hope at least.

Although I think the ideas and execution were better in The Elite, I think the Selection had less annoying main characters. They became more and more annoying in The Elite. I'm hoping for change in The One.

Lets Go!

Thank you all for taking the time to read this!

- Cody :)

Monday, August 3, 2015

Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass (The Selection Book 1)

The Selection (The Selection, #1)
Title: The Selection
Author: Kiera Cass
Page Count: 336
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian Romance
Rating: 4/5

Going in to the Selection, I expected it to be The Bachelor, and super annoying. I decided to read this solely because my teacher bought me the third book and I wanted to read it, and tell her what I thought.

Now, when I began, I was still under this impression, and was waiting for it to get super super annoying, and that I probably wouldn't enjoy it too much. BUT

I really really enjoyed this book! This book is so much more than what it seems. The rebels from North and South, the government, the way the society is set up is actually interesting. Not exactly, original persay, but still gives a new light to a simple concept. Kiera Cass definitely put a lot of thought into this world.

 I actually enjoyed the majority of the characters, which is surprising, and loved America because she was actually real.

Cons: The names. I mean seriously? America Singer who is a singer... that is just cheesy. It's forgivable though. Honderagua, seriously? The combinations of all these different places on Earth today is a little creative, but also cringe worthy.

More thoughts:
Celeste was super duper annoying, and almost too mean. I'd love to actually see what her backstory is because I feel like that would add depth to her character. I am hoping for a future breakdown from her to see her actually show emotions and seem human.

I like Prince Maxon, actually, because he is just trying to figure this all out.

Aspen, at first, I liked. Later in the story, I just don't feel anything for him. I want America to tell him off, for being horrible. even though he isn't that bad, I just don't like him.

This book is the epitome of a guilty pleasure read. Onto The Elite!

Sunday, August 2, 2015

Book Review: Kingdoms of Day by M N.M. Abbott (Book 1 of the Holy Hound Trilogy)

Title: The Kingdoms of Day
Author: M. N.M. Abbott
Page Count: 696
Genre: Fantasy (Young Adult?)
Rating: 5/5

This trilogy is probably my favorite trilogy of all time. Especially once it picks up the pace after the first 150 or so pages. It has moments in there that are very fast, but has it's slow worldbuilding moments.

I read this for the first time over a year ago, and am rereading it for the anticipation of the release of the third and final installment The Gray Blade (Which I am getting at the Oregon State Fair in August)

This is not typically something I would read, as I am not into the whole werewolf scene as others are. But honestly, this book is SO MUCH more than that. It ends up being a small part to the story.

Basically the story follow Shari Gates, a recent grad of high school. It depicts her story as she stumbles into this new world where magic is real, and everything you thought was myth, truly isn't. She takes on the new name Adwen, for a variety of reasons. (I shall not tell, as it is sort of spoiler-y)

There she meets Fedius Toth, who is half-elf. They embark on a journey together to help get her home. They battle vampires, and werewolves and demons and a variety of other creatures.

Enter Oryn, a Master Knight, who is sworn to kill any werewolves or being of cruel intent. He is outright an asshole. But, someone who goes through the most intense character development of anyone in the story. His backstory is my favorite part of the entire 700 page novel. It is heartbreaking, and utterly beautiful, in a tragic way. The way Abbott describes these events and how they took place is breathtaking. I am enamored by the way she has done this.

The characters and the backstories, especially Oryn's is my favorite thing in all of existence.I love the way M N M Abbott writes. She has a way of allowing me to visualize everything. One scene, that I have not forgotten is at the Masquerade for Princess Eyrie and in honor of The Tame One. I will never forget that scene and its vivid-like quality.

The characters are lovable and real. (Despite possibly being mythical.) You grow to love them all in their unique way. Honestly, it's so good,

The villains are so freaking creepy. Extremely well written.

Sycan is one of my favorite villains, although he doesn't come in too much until book two. I think he is creepy in all the right ways. Nadeen is also a crazy witch. My goodness.

I hope you all pick this book up and experience this amazing world and creatures inside!

If you live in Oregon, State Fair everyone. Please pick up these masterpieces (okay to be honest, this is not a masterpiece but I like the world a lot and so that made me rate this higher than the writing probably deserves)

Also, on Amazon!

Monday, July 27, 2015

Accidental Haitus: I'm Still Here! (Plus Update!)

To everyone who sometimes checks out my blog, hopefully more of you in the near future, I am still here!

I just finished reading Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman and will be posting that review close to October as too early of a review could be bad.
Anyway, I have nothing but praise for that book, because it is absolutely fantastic, my goodness.

I have been slowing down my reading as I have to do some poetry reading for school in the fall for my AP Literature class and have to Rewrite the US Constitution for my AP Government class! Lots of work to be done!

I thank you all that support me in my endeavors, I appreciate it immensely.

- Cody Roecker "Roecker Reviews"

P.S I love you all

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

eARC Review: Awake by Natasha Preston (Out August 2015)

I received and e ARC of this from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Awake
Author: Natasha Preston
Page Count: 352
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller/ Suspense
Rating: 3/5
Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house burn down, and she accepts the life they’ve created for her without question—until a car accident causes Scarlett to start remembering pieces of an unfamiliar past.

When a new guy moves into town, Scarlett feels an instant spark. But Noah knows the truth of Scarlett’s past, and he’s determined to shield her from it...because Scarlett grew up in a cult called Eternal Light, controlled by her biological parents.

And they want her back.

Review: With this description, I began this with high hopes. I loved The Cellar by Natasha Preston and was looking forward to something new from her. The concept is interesting. The cult thing is super super creepy. Scarlett and Noah are both likable characters. The instant love is still super frustrating to me because of how UNREALISTIC it is! 

Frustrations aside, this was a well written book. Well written but super frustrating to me for so many reasons. There are books I have liked less but rater higher but this book is just something that has made me angry, not angry, but i'm trying not to use frustrated too much. 

The first quarter of the book was difficult to get into because it began as a sappy romance-heavy young adult novel. But after that first quarter we finally delved into the actually storyline, Eternal Light this freaking creepy cult that is probably the best part of the story.

Natasha Preston has a way with creating justifiably crazy people who so deeply believe their convictions and makes it so we all believe that they believe it as well, It transfers very well to the reader. 

As I continue the book from the dual perspective of Scarlett and Noah, everything finally begins to make sense. Preston ties everything together extremely well and I commend her for that.

The idea for this story is slightly better than the execution of it. About half way through I would have rated this book a 2.5 Stars probably. But the more you get into it, the more you care, the more you actually want to know what is going on with these characters and where they all end up. It's suspenseful and great. I admire Preston's mysterious writing and the way she builds up to big things happening. That is a strong suit of hers.

The characters' flaws all make sense and there isn't a character I think is unrealistic for their specific situation. The characters are indeed extremely well written.. with exception to maybe Imogen, but you don't see enough of her for it to matter.

Near the end of the book, I was biting my nails in suspense. My goodness. As I approached the ending I was breathing heavily and freaking out.  Seriously, it was very intense. 

The ending above all, tied everything together and made me like this book more than I did and allowed me to look past the many blunders included. I can now proudly say that I can rate this book 3 Stars. Almost 3.5 but not quite there. 

I will still be reading Natasha Preston when she writes more. 

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

eARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (Out September 2015)

I received this eARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Everything, Everything
Title: Everything Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Page Count: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Rating 5/5
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review: Everything (, Everything) about this book is beautiful. Simply put, it is near perfect. The concept is so simple yet so interesting. The story follows Maddy who has SCID, a rare disease which prevents her from leaving her house because she is allergic to everything. This leads to her having a very sheltered life. When a new boy, Olly, moves in next door, her life is flipped over and she begins to experience things she never thought she would ever get to. 

This is my favorite contemporary novel I have read this year and one of my favorites of all time. This is my second favorite debut second only to EMBER. You cannot really compare the two except for the fact that they are both amazing and just great. 

The storyline is beautiful. I flew through this book in one day. I didn't want to put it down. Truly, My heart was en-captured in this story. I immediately loved Maddy and every character I encountered from there on out. She is just lovable and relatable in a twisted way. She is someone I feel like I knew so well from the moment she first spoke. That is so difficult to do, and I am so proud of Nicola Yoon for doing so. 

There is so much hype surrounding this book and I can honestly say that it is well deserved. The writing is simply elegant.

Before I even go further into the contents of the story lets just talk a moment about the illustrations. 
David Yoon (Nicola's husband) did the illustrations throughout the novel.. THEY ARE SO BEAUTIFUL. They really bring the story home for me. It connects everything so well and they are so witty and comical and tragic. (Not all at the same time of course) So amazed by the talent of these two.

The characters were probably my favorite part of this novel. There was not one character I completely hated. I had a strong dislike toward one character, but that is it. Everyone else was lovely despite their many faults. Carla was probably my favorite character. One thing she told Maddy was "It's not your fault. Life is a gift. Don't forget to live it." and I loved that so much. 

A few other quotes I loved include "Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love."
"Love is a terrible thing and its loss is even worse."
"There's more to life than being alive." 

That is just a little snippet of the beauty of Everything, Everything.

Seriously, this book is fan-freaking-tastic and I believe every person should purchase this book as soon as it releases. Pre-order it!!!!

Monday, July 20, 2015

BookReview: We Were Liars by e. Lockhart

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Title: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Page Count: 225
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary
Rating: 3.5/5 Review: This book has left me on the edge of my seat the entire time because the entire time I was trying to figure out what was real and what wasn't. The writing is amazing. I really enjoy the way e. Lockhart creates this unreliable character and you never know who you can trust and what is truly going on. 

The suspense in this book is utterly unbelievable. I am enamored by everything that was going on.The plot was intriguing and enough to keep me reading. 

The main character could be annoying with her borderline obsession with another character, and with everything that was going on, it makes sense. 

When you get to the end and everything is told to you, it all comes together really nicely. 

I enjoyed this book, however, the plot twist wasn't as grand as I was expecting. It's partially my fault for listening to what everyone had to say about this twist but I wasn't surprised, I sorta expected it. So that left me a little disappointed. 

The Sinclair family reminds me a lot of Season 1 of Revenge on ABC which I granted only watched half of... anyways, it had that upper-class East Hampton's vibe to it which was interesting. 

If you enjoy being confused but intrigued, I would pick this up.It's a very quick read and will keep you interested. 

I will be reading more books by e lockhart in the future. 

Until next time! 

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles Book 3)


Title: Cress
Author: Marissa Meyer
Page Count: 550
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fairy Tale Retelling
Rating: 5/5 
Cress is the third installment to the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer. I really enjoyed the first two books in this series and was expecting a lot with this; I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED AT ALL. Cress was beautifully written and it EXCEEDED my expectations that I had for it. 

Cress follows Cress who is trapped in a satellite in space. She is a lunar shell and has been kept there by Sybil Mira for seven years now. All of her time alone has allowed Cress to become and excellent hacker. She has a goal of getting rescued, and she knows exactly how she wants to do it. 

Cress is a lovely character and I love the connections to Rapunzel because they are there but they aren't screaming at you. Some of the aspects are very apparent and others you have to look for deeply and that is a very very nice touch. 

I love Meyer's writing style and the way she writes in third person is one of the best I have seen in today's author pool. She has a way of weaving story lines together like nobody else. It is quite amazing to witness. 

Meyer has written a masterpiece that includes action, romance, sci-fi, and so many aspects that really bring home the story. I adore her strong female characters. It is so difficult to find well-written strong female characters that are the main focus of the story, and she does this incredibly well! 

The best thing is that her characters are very different! HALLELUJAH! Actually differentiated characters. It is such a nice change from normal novels today. 

This book didn't have too many slow moments, and if there were, they were brief. I flew through this action-packed book. I, as an aspiring writer, recognize the difficulties of writing certain types of scenes, but especially fight scenes. I am astounded by Meyer's ability to describe them in such a vivid way. 

Even though I am still behind on this series, I could not be more excited for Winter this fall! I have no doubt that it will be an epic conclusion to an already amazing series! 

I one-hundred percent recommend this series to EVERYONE, but especially those who like retellings of fairy-tales and science fiction  and fantasy twists. It is refreshing and different and I seriously commend Marissa Meyer and her capabilities as an author

eARC Review: Are You Still There by Sarah Lynn Scheerger (Out September 2015)

I received an eARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Title: Are You Still There?
Author: Sarah Lynn Scheerger
Page Count:288
Genre: Young Adult, Suspense
Rating: 3/5
Are You Still There delves into so many deep and dark places. 

 The story line follows Gabriella after a bomb threat at her school. She is stuck in the bathroom during this time. This begins the series of psychological games played on her. 

 Gabi is such a strong character and I was very intrigued as she started to unravel the mystery. The great thing about this book is the suspense it holds throughout. I absolutely loved the Strangers' Manifesto that was sprinkled throughout the novel. It was my favorite part of the entire novel. Without it, I probably would have rated this a three. But the addition was intriguing and creepy and very real. The 'Stranger' was such a unique and intellectual individual that I found myself begging for more insight from him. I applaud the author for creating such a real person with psychological problems. It was so realistic. 

 I also really enjoyed Janae. She was just plain awesome. She was one of my favorite characters. I found myself not caring too much about all of the characters. I cared about the Stranger and Janae and felt a little bit for Gabi and her sister, Chloe. That was the hardest part to read, when I wasn't connecting to the characters. There were more moments that I connected than didn't but it was still difficult in those moments,

 This novel was very interesting and I would definitely read more by the author. Although this isn't my favorite book, or even close to it, for the year I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.