Sunday, April 23, 2017

SST: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Welcome to my stop of Sunday Street Team! This month we are featuring GIRL OUT OF WATER by Laura Silverman!



Through this post I have made a list about my thoughts regarding each character plus accompanying AESTHETICS because they're fun!! :D [Most of the aesthetics are for the characters though a few vary just a little :) ]

Girl Out of Water

Girl Out Of Water, Laura Silverman's debut, is a coming-of-age story that follows Anise as she is thrust away from the Pacific Ocean, Santa Cruz California and her home, in the surf. Through the novel we really get to see how pain, loss, and love affect Anise in the best and worst of ways.

I loved reading this book and the moment I started it, I was hooked. I was immersed in the story and ready to go on this adventure with Anise. From the moment we met her, I knew she was going to be a character I am never going to forget. There is something about her that just makes her so real. I think it might be the way she deals with her emotions and her problems, they are so utterly relatable and I'm so thankful that Laura wrote this book, and that she told Anise's story.

The love of surfing is so palpable and it made me want to surf. I am so NOT athletic that for a book to really make me want to feel the way an athletic character does... is really good in my book.

Not only is Anise a real character... so are allllll of the other character. I like lists so here's a list for you....

girl surfer                                                                                                                                                                                 More:  Fiji Surfer Girl, print from original watercolor fashion illustration by Jessica Durrant. This is really cool. I wish I was good at water color.:  Take Me To The Ocean  Women's Shirts  Surfer Girl  by PowderAndSea:  Coastal Style: Surfer Girl Style:

Emery- Our 13-and-a-half year old daughter of Aunt Jackie who Anise develops a big connection with.

- She is waaaay more mature.
- Totally just really cool.
- I understand how she feels with her friends in one point in the novel.
- I really just love her.
- She has so much more depth than most youngsters have and I really appreciate that.
- She kind of reminds me of me at that age.

reading ✧  I Shop books at Books + Rec Shoppe www.booksandrec.com:  ik it sounds stupid but i really wanna learn to skate cause ive always wanted to learn an ollie, kickflip, 360 etc . if you know a pro plz contact me i really really wanna learn:  


Nash & Parker - Lovable twins

- One of them is super philosophical
- The other makes reaaaally poor decisions.
- Well, kind of.
- I forget which is which tbh but I love them both
- The skate park scenes are wonderful.
- There's a quote I marked from one of them that might be my favorite thing in the entire book.

"But bad things are infinite, right?" he asks.
"What do you mean?"
"Well, just because Mom got into an accident it doesn't mean she can't get into another one, right? One bad thing doesn't stop more from happening."
My heart clenches, as my mind whirs for some kind of comfort to share. He's right. Bad things are infinite. But I kiss his head and hug him tighter and say, "That's true, but you know what else is true?"
"What?"
"Good things are infinite too."


There is something so real, so hopeful about this passage that really spoke and stood out to me.
- There is a moment with one twin that broke my little heart.

 It's two Tootie Waynes!!!...Thank you Queenie!!! :): Caballero. Sunset frontside wall ride on the monolith at Lake Cunningham skatepark. photo by Potwin 2009:

Lincoln - Umm, he's perfect?

- Except he's not.
- But I love him so freaking much.
- He's African American
- He has one arm (and it's explained why)
- His disability was NOT his only personality trait!
- Thank you so much, Laura!
- Honestly, he's such a wickedly charming fella
- Here's an example: "Memory of steel, another one of my many amazing talents." "Your modesty is overwhelming." "So is my smile."
- He has an arrogance that is definitely attractive.
- I finally understand why some people find arrogance/confidence attractive
- I just needed to meet Lincoln.
- He truly cares about Anise, and I love that.
- He's just so pure.

character inspiration:  "I used the Light 36 Gauge Enchantment copper on a commercial bar top and was very pleased with the results. It was easy to apply and with the reassuring help from Color Copper's customer service, the two part epoxy was fool proof." /  Mark Baker  Panther Pub - Panther Valley, New Jersey:

See this Instagram photo by @instagood • 4,161 likes:

Aunt Jackie - She's the reason that Anise is put in this situation
- I'm glad she expresses gratitude.
- The main scene between her and Anise is superb.
- Her situation TERRIFIED me so many times throughout the novel.
- "Saying a problem out loud doesn't fix it... but maybe, just maybe, it starts to help."

hospital cash back cover, http://www.frank.net/hospital-cash-back-cover/hospital-cash-back-cover:

Road Trip :: Seek Adventure :: Explore With Friends :: Summer Travel :: Gypsy Soul :: Chase the Sun :: Discover Freedom :: Travel Photography :: Free your Wild :: See more Untamed Road Trip Destinations + Inspiration @untamedelemnts:

Tess- the ultimate best friend.
- So glad she keeps it real with Anise
- She was really there when nobody else was.
- I really admire her.
- Her honesty is SUPERB
- I also like that she wasn't perfect.
- She also said this "Don't be a snob, dude. A good book is a good book." BLESS YOU TESS

First Time with a Highlander (Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands) by Gwyn Cready http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00XWMC5SS/ref=cm_sw_r_pi_dp_DaBbwb0STQH4E:  Atlantis:

Eric- I really felt for this dude

- He seems super nice
- I would have liked another scene or two with him
- Understandable why there isn't though
- Everything between him and Anise felt super real.

Very Long Cool Straight Hairstyle ~ http://heledis.com/man-and-hairstyles-for-men/:  I just got this board and I think this is a really cool photo showing the back side. It's an Arbor longboard with a side view map of Cali on it.:

Wendy- I LOVED HER
- Even though we saw her for only a few pages
- I feel like I've known her my whole life.
- I'd love a novel just about her tbh
- And we can have Lincoln and Anise make an appearance
- Or go back to when Lincoln and Wendy were in school together
- But seriously, that scene was one of my favorites

this brunch looks fantastic!:  The Nebraska Sandhills - martinmora.aminus3.com:
Carmel Beach and Cyprus, Carmel-by-the-Sea, California:

My favorite scene of the entire novel was probably when Anise and Lincoln were at the pub in Reno... I don't think I can express how terrifically paced and written that scene was. Simply, wow!
I really don't have any complaints. I really love this novel. And I know you guys will too.

There's a lot of special within this book. Just open your eyes, and read!

Hope you enjoyed this post! Keep reading! There's a giveaway below!


Goodreads Link:

Preorder Links:
Barnes & Nobles: http://bit.ly/2ohJC1x
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2oaYo9S

Social Media:



Synopsis (GR):
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

About the Author:
Laura received her MFA in writing for children from the New School. She loves books and dogs—okay, and quite a few people too. She currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia. You can say hello on Twitter at @LJSilverman1.





Rafflecopter Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Tour host stop links:


4/16 Tour Blogs Stops
Interview - Pretty Deadly Blog
Review -  Sarcasm and Lemons
Interview -  Curly Hair Bibliophile
interview - Hopeful Reads
Mood board & Review - Here's to Happy Endings
Review -  Book Nerd Addicts

4/23 Tour Blogs Stops
Aesthetics Post - Roecker Reviews
Interview - Awkwordly Emma

4/30 Tour Blogs Stops
Graphics Inspired Quotes -  The Cozy Little Book Nook
Interview -  Tattooed Pages  
Review -  Crazy for YA

Monday, April 3, 2017

13 Reasons Why: How it made ME feel


I just finished watching the Netflix adaptation of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY, and I have some thoughts. Here a lot of them are below. I get personal, and yeah:


I loved this book when I read it sixish years ago. I mostly loved the show, except... I very much did not. This isn't going to be about the acting (which I really enjoyed, to be honest), but rather the raw emotions this show brought out in me recently, the pain it has caused. And why, while I think it's a necessary show for a few reasons, I can't recommend anyone actually watch it for a plethora of others.

Spoiler warnings, and triggers ahead: rape, self-harm, suicide, bullying. I'll add more as I talk about them, I just know I'll be discussing these things. Please don't read any further if you could be triggered by discussion of these things just know: You should not watch this show if you have gone through these things as heavily as these characters had. It's harmful, and could cause a lot of problems including memories returning.

So, as most of you know, Thirteen Reasons Why follows Clay after he receives a collection of tapes from Hannah Baker, a girl who recently committed suicide. The tapes chronicle the "thirteen reasons why" she ended her life.

Main issue with the premise and execution of the story: It focuses more on Clay than on Hannah Baker, and if this story was going to be about teen suicide- and preventing it- then I really think the focus should not have been on Clay. Regardless, I enjoyed the book when I read it way back when. I'd likely have a different opinion now- but only on how it wasn't really about Hannah in the book. It was ALL about Hannah, but it wasn't about Hannah, if you get what I mean.

I actually think the TV show remedied that, a little bit. I saw the focus on Hannah be much clearer. They definitely allowed us to see her thought process (though not enough, in my opinion) but more so than the book did. It was easier to sympathize/empathize/understand everything she went through before deciding to end her life.

While I don't agree fully on the stance that "people don't kill themselves for reasons" statement, I see what people are thinking when they say that. I think the culmination of those things on top of the emotional issues Hannah clearly already has, makes sense to me. At least, I believed it. Doesn't mean you have to, but discounting people who have felt empty like Hannah for similar reasons could be harmed by stating that Hannah's story is "unrealistic". Which I get. Nobody has to believe Hannah's reasons for them to be something that could possibly happen. That's very important to note, in my opinion.

Now that I have gotten those thoughts out of the way, let's get into the nitty-gritty of this show. First of all, it was marketed like a mystery. That's where my first problem with it lies. This is not a mystery, nor should it be treated as such. But it added to the compulsive watching factor that made it so people watched this show quickly. Which I don't blame them. You want to know what happens, you need to, almost.

Major Spoilers are coming up ahead.

My main problem with the show didn't reveal itself until the last couple episodes. The graphic depiction of rape. And Hannah's suicide.

Not. Okay. Whatsoever.

The rape, I understand why it was put on screen. I understand the intended effect, why they presented it in this way. I do. I understand. But this does not excuse the pain it will cause so many fucking people.

Both Hannah and Jessica are raped by Bryce Walker... and the lies that surround that are terrible. But, showing it on screen, though it brings out the emotions necessary to understand everything. Is unnecessary. We don't need to see the rape happening to know it happened. We don't need to watch it more than once to get a better idea of what happened those nights. We don't need that. That is only going to cause harm to viewers.

I haven't been raped. But I have been sexually molested. By my half-brother nonetheless. I could go into a whole post about this but it's not something I like to talk about, or generally make public. But it's a part of who I am today, and I really could have done without watching sexual assault and rape this morning. How am I supposed to go on with my day after watching someone get raped, even if fictionalized and on screen? How am I supposed to get that out of my head? How am I supposed to not feel hurt, and have memories that I have tried hard to suppress come back to the surface? How do you expect me to go about my day like normal? I fucking can't. It's been the only thing on my mind most of today, and I get close to tears just thinking about it. Rape is real. The depiction in this show is just problem number one, of many. The hurt I feel, and I haven't been raped. Imagine what this could do to someone who has.

Another problem regarding the rape: Mr. Porter. What the actual flying fuck. His response to Hannah's claim of rape is frankly complete bullshit. I don't believe for a second that a counselor at any school, EVER, would treat Hannah's claim like nothing like he did. THAT IS FUCKING HARMFUL. It killed me, felt like a stab into my chest. Unrealistic, and painful to watch. I was screaming at my computer as I watched that scene. It made me ache, it made me shake. I was not okay. I am still not entirely okay from that scene. Unrealistic, and seriously an issue.

But the worst scene wasn't the rapes. It wasn't the sexual assault that Hannah went through multiple times. It wasn't watching her get put into this role that she wasn't. It wasn't all of the terrible shit she went through. The hardest scene. The worst scene. The scene that I wholeheartedly don't believe should have been included was the scene in the final episode when she commits suicide.

Never in a million years should anyone have to watch someone slit their wrists in a show. Not one good reason. I actually cried uncontrollably.

This wasn't okay. This will never be okay. Why did someone think this was okay? It's fucking triggering. Really, really triggering. Do you know what this can do to a teen that is struggling with suicidal thoughts?

And these are just the major things that really bothered me about this adaptation. There are a lot of smaller things that also bother me about this story:

Clay's selfishness and tendency to make everything about him. A little hypocritical for someone who accuses Hannah of the same exact thing.

Bryce not getting any actual repercussions for what he did. That could be explored. Make it even more obvious how wrong raping someone is. He's delusional, and he doesn't learn whatsoever, and I don't like how this was.

Skye's comment on how suicide is for the weak, and how she slits her wrists so she can cope, but would never do something so cowardly. This is a problem for so many reasons, and I don't even know how to begin. Suicide isn't the correct answer, but neither is self-harm. I understand the urge. I've cut before. It's been a long time, but this show is a problem because though it doesn't actively advocate for self-harm it doesn't say much against it either. Inaction is still action, my friends. It's harmful, and hurtful and problematic and it makes me incredibly upset.

Justin Foley. I don't have complaints over most of his storyline actually. I felt for him so fucking much, and it doesn't excuse what he did. But his situation was shitty and I wanted someone to do something about it and nobody did. How stupid are these kids? None of them report any of this because they are so fucking selfish, and only care about what these tapes could do to them. Well, do you fucking realize how the rest of these characters are feeling? The hurt you are all going through? This is when you talk together about these things. Instead of blackmailing each other, going behind each others backs, and making certain people's actions "worse" than everyone elses.

And something I might hate even more than a lot of this: The addition of Tyler buying a gun(s) in the last episode,( teasing at a second season possibly?) was unnecessary and just adds even more issues to the mess that this could be.

I'm just so intrinsically upset by this show. And I wasn't until I got to the last couple episodes. I actually was enjoying it. What went wrong?

Maybe it's because things hit a little too close to home, or maybe it was because I just realized how it was actually making me feel... but nevertheless this show is harmful.

It does some good things though:

It opens up a discussion about teen suicide. While it doesn't do a lot of good things surrounding that. It does make you think about actions you make daily. Although the guilt trip is whole other issue entirely, the show makes you think about things you say.

It makes you think, in general. About people, about life. About mental illness. About some seriously heavy topics.

Tony's characterization was spot on. I think we really get a grasp of his reasoning's on why he needed to do what he did.

Hannah's parents. Arguably the best part of this entire show. We got to see their hurt. The lawsuit. The pain. The scene after Hannah commits suicide in the final episode and her mother walks in, that broke me to smithereens. Painful. holy fuck. I just believed everything they said so immensely. And the contrast before and after Hannah's death is simply haunting. Very powerful.

Shari (Sheri?) I have always enjoyed her character but watching everything unfold in her mind was done well, and I feel it highlighted some important things that us humans do to justify our actions.

I will stand by statement that Clay just royally pisses me off and he is the reason this novel can be seen as romanticizing mental illness/suicide; and I don't think this is the case. I see why people read it that way, especially with the outright stupidity of Clay sometimes... but I think the show and novel were trying to do more than that. Do I think they succeeded? I'm not sure but it's something to think about.

TL/DR:

Though THIRTEEN REASONS WHY offers an intriguing storyline with some important intended messages, the adaptation of the novel into a tv show is very harmful and could potentially hurt a lot of people. I don't want to tell you not to watch it. But if you think, even possibly however small that possibility, that you could be hurt. I would suggest not watching it.

I don't want anyone getting hurt by watching this show.

I have more thoughts I'm sure, but I am drained and this enough for now.

Have you watched the show? How has it made you feel if you have? Let's talk about this. If you disagree, let's talk. If you agree, let's talk. I think a conversation about this could be really healthy.

Friday, March 17, 2017

So... it's been a month. UPDATE TIME

Dear Readers,

Hey y'all! It's Cody. (I mean, that's my name, but I always feel like introducing myself when I am starting a blogpost like this one)

I'm starting this off by saying that I love you all so much, and am thankful for your continued support, every single day.

So... I have not posted anything for awhile. And this post is me forcing myself to do so. I just... haven't had the motivation. Or the time, really. I've been focusing on school, and some other things... and right now that has to take priority.

School has been stressful as all hell, but luckily I'm on spring break right now. (alas, it is almost over by the time I am actually writing this) So, this has been the first break since this semester started, and I really needed it.

I've been in a rough place emotionally (as y'all saw with my last post...) I would like to say I'm much better... but it's a daily struggle and honestly some days are better than others. I'm glad to say that I am more happy than not ;) lol, had to put that in there. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLEASE PICK UP MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA!!!

Speaking of Adam... I met Adam, Becky, and David of the #Beckminavidera crew at SEYA 2017 in Murfreesboro Tennessee. I can confirm that they are the best of people, and give the greatest hugs and I love them even more than I did before I met them [which is saying something as I already loved them infinitely]

ANYWAYS, I took a 45 minute train ride followed by a 6 hour bus ride to get there at 1am, get 4 hours of sleep, and hightail it to MTSU, barely making it before the first panel...

where Becky, Adam, and David all hugged me before there first panel. HONESTLY DREAM MOMENT. I wish I could rewind and watch everyone around me reactions' because omfg that felt good. It definitely brought me the most immense amount of joy I have ever felt.

I got to listen to the pan about Books, Buddies and Bad Behavior. There was major shade thrown at a certain English-hating- writer. [Looking at you Gabaldon...] and we got to here two stories about almost eating mice.... (You'll have to ask David and Courtney Stevens about that one... lololololol]

After the panel, I swiftly ran over to the bookstore and got in Adam's signing line, getting my golden oreos ready for him. Adam is quite frankly one of the most important writers to me, personally. His books are so unapologetically real, and relatable to me. He just gets it. And I'm thankful. He's also super sweet, and tall; but y'all knew that second part. He signed my books, took a picture with me and expressed the sadness at not being able to eat lunch with us. [I was sad too, god Adam is the best.]

After Adam, I went over to David's line, and got to talk with him for a little while, hugged him and said my "See you later" spiel, as I knew we'd be eating together later and that I'd probably spend most the day with him and Becky. [I was not wrong]

I got in to Becky's line and stayed until her signing was over. We conveniently, and coincidentally, both wore Hamilton t-shirts. It was the besttttt, especially for the group picture with Adam, Becky, David and I. Worked for some great coordination. Hamilton and Plaid. #goals.

After this, my friend Mari and the wonderful authors went and sat in the food court taking turns getting food. I also got to meet Mason, Weezie and their friend [I believe Rosie was their name, but I'm not entirely sure on spelling or certain on the name...oops. I feel bad] Y'all were great, and I really cannot wait to read Mason's EnbyLoveStory. We ate lunch, and talked and it was great. I gave Becky the painting I did of her first two book covers and some double-stuf Oreos, obviously. What is a gift to Becky without Oreos?

After lunch, Becky and I headed to David's panel where we got to listen all about "Heroes at Heart" with Cinda Williams Chima, David, Laurel Snyder, and I. W. Gregorio (who insists I W is boring, and her name is Ilene.)

My favorite quote from that entire experience was

"A honest voice is more important than a pretty one." - David Arnold

I was so immersed in everything I didn't take notes, but Becky's movie for SIMON was mentioned. Because, let's face it... we're all excited!!!

Then, we walked to David's second signing and we just kind of hanged out with Becky and David for that time. We talked about writing, how mine was going, and just talked like old friends catching up [which we basically are, at this point.] It was a great time, even though a few people may have walked off during that time... [SORRY READERS IF THAT WAS YOU!]

I ended up getting books signed by Kathryn Ormsbee, Melanie Conklin, and Courtney Stevens.... after listening to the Love Bites panel featuring Becky Albertalli, Katie Cotugno, Ashley Blake and two others.

It was hilarious and friendly, and the audience asked some great questions to which Court had some PHENOMENAL answers.

I went back, [packed up all my stuff] waited in Becky's line to say goodbye... and I left for the day.

It was glorious and I loved it so so so so so much.

A++++++++++ experience. 10/10 would definitely recommend.

Hope I can go next year! *fingers crossed*

Now onto more things......

So....

The real reason I started this post...

is because...

Besides the few things I've committed too....

I'm going to go on a semi-hiatus.

This is to avoid pressure to post, and trying to find time to write here, complete all my homework and get good grades, and write for me... in hopes to get published. My grades (though they're still good) are not in the low-A range where I would like them... so I'm taking a step back so I can focus on my schoolwork and my novel-writing.

I love you all, and will definitely have a few reviews here and there. But I won't be for sure... posting.

I will be fully back by mid-May; but until then I'll be sporadic. This isn't goodbye, this is just a so long, a farewell, an until.

I'll see you probably twice a month from here on out- and I love you guys a lot.

hope you enjoyed, and made it through this mess of a long post.

With all the love,

Cody
  

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Untitled (Raw and Unedited)

This emptiness is killing me
carving me out like
A pumpkin right before Halloween.
Scraping my insides out
and throwing them away
without any regard
to how they felt
to what they meant
to who I was because of them

It feels like a part of me
was taken away
and I wish I knew how
or what I could do to
get them back. To
make myself
whole again.

I try to gather my
thoughts and bundle them into
something
something more
something, palpable
yet I consistently come up short
Empty.

Something is missing
And I wish I knew what
Because that'd be easier, right?
The knowledge of why
is so much easier to fix
if you know what it is
that you're trying to replace.

But maybe I'm not missing anything
and it's all in my head
maybe, this is who I am
This is how I have to live
and this is what I will be
Forever.

Maybe emptiness is eternal.
But maybe it's not really that bad
Maybe it's bearable
Maybe
Maybe
Maybe

Maybe I'll survive
But God does it hurt
It hurts
It numbs
It's painful
It echoes
It feels like a pinball going off
hitting everything.
Hitting
Everything.

Sometime emptiness comes from the lack of feeling...
But the worst of emptiness comes from feeling too much.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Untitled - Cody Roecker

The pressure inside of my head is building up like sedimentary rock getting stronger as it pushes itself into the layer before it. Like the rock, my head is filled with many facets of pain that aren’t all visible on the surface.
On the outside, you have my smiling face, my enamoring giggle, my sad eyes that illuminate and draw people in.
    On the inside you have the realities of the world. You have the beautiful nightmare, the corrupt swirls of something that looks beautiful, but has a hole in the center, a black hole, that sucks every last thing up into it.
    On the outside you have my fuzzy exterior, my chubby cheeks, my thick body, my larger-than-life personality.
    On the inside you would be able to see how I feel about all of that… That I hate it all. I love the comfort I provide others, but do I love myself?
    On the outside you have my facade, of a perfect, happy life.
    On the inside you have the effects of depression, presenting itself in the form of a tumor, growing ever so slightly, and every time we cut a little bit off, or we think it’s finally going away, it grows, stronger, bigger, more protruding into my everyday life. I cannot escape it, no matter how much I try.
    But anymore, I cannot tell what is on the inside and what is on the outside, the two parts of my existence have begun to bleed into one, and I am fearful of what it could mean. I am afraid of what could happen to me. I am frightened.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #37

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2)
February 28th 2017

Synopsis: The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere. Nix has escaped her past, but when the person she loves most is at risk, even the daughter of a time traveler may not be able to outrun her fate—no matter where she goes. Fans of Rae Carson, Alexandra Bracken, and Outlander will fall hard for Heidi Heilig’s sweeping fantasy.

Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her father has given up his obsession to save her mother—and possibly erase Nix’s existence—and Nix’s future lies bright before her. Until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves. But her relationship with Kash—best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire—is only just beginning. How can she bear to lose him? How can she bear to become as adrift and alone as her father?

Desperate to change her fate, Nix takes her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems—not even her relationship with Kash. Nix must grapple with whether anyone can escape her destiny, her history, her choices. Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. But at the center of this adventure are the extraordinary, multifaceted, and multicultural characters that leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds. The sequel—and conclusion—to the indie darling The Girl from Everywhere will be devoured by fans of Rachel Hartman and Maggie Stiefvater. Includes black-and-white maps.
 

Why I'm excited:

1. I love Heidi Heilig and I want to support everything she does, because she is a must needed advocate in the YA world today.

2. I LOVED The Girl From Everywhere! I thought it was thrilling, the romance was perfect, and Nix was such a Badass. I cannot wait to see where this story goes!

3. THAT COVER. It's glorious. I love the swoopiness. I love our lovely ship!

4. Time travel!!! I love how intricate the time travel is in this series!!!!

5. I mean, cmon, it's gonna be great!!!

6. I've also heard that the opening lines are killer! SO READY

Monday, January 30, 2017

COVER REVEAL: 27 Hours by Tristina Wright!


When I saw a sign-up form to help reveal the cover for 27 HOURS by Tristina Wright I jumped on that shit so damn fast. I have been looking forward to this novel for SO LONG. I feel like I've known about it for as long as it's been around. And my god, am I excited. It's BEAUTIFUL YOU GUYS.

And without further ado,

I present to you

The cover for this beautiful and oh so queer novel!


Hot damn. These colors are BREATHTAKING. This cover is one of my favorites of all time. I am in LOVE, aren't you? :)

So ready for #queerteensinspace 

Will October 3rd get here soon enough?


Title: 27 Hours (The Nightside Saga. #1)
Author: Tristina Wright
Release Date: October 3, 2017

Book Description: 
Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.
But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.
Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother's shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon's darkest secret.
They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.
During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

Book Riot Official Reveal: http://bit.ly/2jKmUKg

Author Bio:
Tristina Wright is a blue-haired bisexual with anxiety and opinions. She’s also possibly a mermaid, but no one can get confirmation. She fell in love with science fiction and fantasy at a young age and frequently got caught writing in class instead of paying attention. She enjoys worlds with monsters and kissing and monsters kissing. She married a nerd who can build computers and make the sun shine with his smile. Most days, she can be found drinking coffee from her favorite chipped mug and making up more stories for her wombfruit, who keep life exciting and unpredictable.
Still trying to figure out the mermaid thing.

Snapchat: @tristinawright

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #36


The Upside of Unrequited

April 11th 2017
<3

I LOVE THIS BOOK.
I have already had the EXTREME PLEASURE of devouring it and I just can't you guys. Becky is the BEST. In every way.



A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!


Monday, January 23, 2017

Commenting: A Goal

Dear Readers.

Dear Random-People-Who-Stumbled-Upon-My-Blog

Dear Anyone who is reading this.

Dear anyone who will read this in the future,

I have a goal this year,

and that is to comment on more blogs

I would love some more blogs to follow and comment on.

Send me your links?

Thank you!!!!

Cody Roecker

Friday, January 20, 2017

Vulnerability: Hopefully A Message for Hope

I struggle.

I struggle with feeling unwanted.

I struggle with loving myself, because it's so damned difficult all of the freaking time.

I'm not a very happy person, yet I try so hard to maintain a brave face.

I find it so hard to have fun, because I have to be so careful... I often feel as if I'm going to get hurt if I'm too loud, too quiet, too passionate, to detached. I have to constantly work to be in some middle ground attempting to be accepted ,to be liked. I am the worst of people-pleasers. And every day it's difficult for me to get ready for my day... but I remember I have people counting on me. I have people that tell me I brighten their day. That my shining smile makes their day improve tenfold, and it makes me want to get out of bed, and face the day head on.

The worst thing someone can say to me is "You need to calm down." when I'm talking about something I'm passionate about. Whether it be books, or books, or more books, or the occasional Netflix show or whatever I am passionate about at that time. Maybe those people don't realize they feed into my self-doubt so much so that I have to reevaluate if this is really worth it. If showing my passion is something worth the strange looks. [Of course it damn is] but when your passions are diminished it is painful. It is dreadful. It's the feeling of being unwanted, and that the things you care about aren't worth caring about.... And that hurts.

So everyday, I work harder to find happiness in the little things I experience in every day life, and even though I struggle... most days I do find something.

Last night, I was in a rough moment in time, that was completely a misunderstanding, but that doesn't diminish the pain that was felt because of that.

But today, I have a new flame lit underneath my ass, to take today by storm, just like I'll eventually take the world by storm. [and yes, wise one, I'm definitely referencing Lukas Graham right now] But today of all days, a day I thought I would feel completely hopeless, I just want to prove to myself that I can and will make it through. I have stories to write, and people to love.

I know that my feelings are real.

I want you all to know that no matter how you feel, how you are feeling towards whatever situation is arising at this very moment [whether it be more personal, or fear for this election, which I am feeling wholeheartedly.] I want you to know that it is real. And that it's okay you are feeling this way. [I wish we didn't have to]

If we stand together, imagine the power we could have. Imagine what we could do, what we could get through.

I love you.

I'm here to hold  your hand. To give you hug. To call out your bullshit. To love you wholeheartedly. To smile, and laugh, and be friends.

Together, we can get through anything.

I believe in us.

We got this.

So today, as we struggle to make it through the day... remember that together, we can do this. Somehow, someway, we will.

Let's do this.


Well, I'm writing.

So, I'm one of those people that is lucky to write maybe 250-500 words a day, if I even write at all. So, when I talk about goals it probably won't be in word count. I might have an idea of where I would like to be, but most likely I will reach something with scenes.

As of now, I have about 15 chapters outlined of a project I'm working on.

My goal for January is to have 3 of those chapters drafted. If I can do more than that, great! But my goal is 3 of the chapters.

I'm really enjoying what I'm writing so far, though I think it's missing some sort of spark. But I think I'll find it.

I would like to have 10000+ words in the novel by the end of January, but I'm not even sure what I have right now to be honest. When I'm drafting this post (January 12th) I have somewhere between 1500-2000 words, but that's totally an estimate. My outline is 3200 words long, so at least there's that.

I really love this story, and I'm excited to see where it takes me. Starting in February I'm going to be doing a little update on my writing. A series entitled:

Cody Writes A Novel!

And each week I'll keep you updated on an estimated word count, my goals for that week (how much I want to write... whether it be scene wise or chapter wise. ) and maybe a line or two from that weeks writing.

I hope y'all are interested in this because I sure do love to write.

Thank you for listening... Love you all,

Cody Roecker

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #35


Blood Rose Rebellion
March 28th 2017

Synopsis: The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.



I mean, this sounds just super duper cool and I'm so freaking excited for it!!!!!!



A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME IS IN THE WORLD YOU GUYS

As a self proclaimed #Beckminavidera fanatic, I have a book y'all need to read...

and it's none other than Adam Silvera's sophomore novel HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME which releases...

TODAY. I repeat, TODAY, 1/17/17

This novel is filled with so many things

It is an exploration of grief

It is about first loves

It is about loss

It is about learning to overcome hardships

It is about friendship

It is about human connection.

It is ultimately a portrait of grief and what in can do to a person.

It will make you cry.

It will make you laugh.

It will make you want to throw the book.

It will evoke empathy.

And sympathy

You will care about these characters,

and their lives will change yours.

Adam Silvera writes with a power not possessed by many. The power to move you in a way that changes, not only who you are for a little while, but for eternity after. Griffin's situation may not be relatable to all, but the way Silvera writes makes you feel as if you have experienced this, even if you haven't.

SO BUY THIS BOOK

History Is All You Left Me


When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.
 

Monday, January 16, 2017

An Ode to Molasses

Well, I felt like writing and used Molasses to inspire three pretty different things:

I hope you enjoy them:


Everything was dark, sticky, and slowed me down. I struggled to move forward, but I pressed on despite the hardship I was facing. Covered. I was covered in thick brown goo, that reminded me of something I used to eat when I was a child... but I couldn't quite place it. At least, not yet. But I continued swimming through it, moving slowly yet carefully, making each step count. Sweat dripped off of my body, landing in the unfortunate mess I had to move through. I can do this I thought. Moving like this depleted my energy but I had to continue. I had to make it through. I had to overcome this hurdle, I needed to break out of this molasses-covered journey I was on. Even if for a moment. So I could escape this drowning feeling that filled me to the brim. I needed to so my tears would dry. I needed to so I could feel clean. So I could finally feel peace once again.

Mary told me that I needed to be stronger and that I needed to be more
Observant. She said I needed to pay attention to the quarrels of
Lovers because I had no lover of myself and to her, I needed one to
Ascend into happily ever after. And so I went out and
Searched for sweet love, something that could bring me
Some sense of serenity. However, I found it within myself to
Enjoy the life I had even if I couldn't find that  love. That realization led me to a
Stairway to a place where I felt the love of a thousand suns splash onto my skin. And it was beautiful.

Sickeningly sweet with serendipity it sings
Every echo of the elegant eagle's wings
She saw sinister strings in said song
Swinging into sweltering sorrow
Allison's anger ate away at
Laziness and longing that lead
O'er the orchards of oranges
Moving meticulously through the moor, making the music more melodic.

Friday, January 13, 2017

A List of Cages by Robin Roe

A List of Cages

Title: A List of Cages
Author: Robin Roe
Release Date: January 10th, 2017
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Page Count: 320
Rating: Utterly heartbreaking, yet somehow hopeful. (4 stars, if I had to use stars)
Source: Netgalley :)
Synopsis: When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his senior year, serving as an aide to the school psychologist, he thinks he's got it made. Sure, it means a lot of sitting around, which isn't easy for a guy with ADHD, but he can't complain, since he gets to spend the period texting all his friends. Then the doctor asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her, and Adam discovers that the boy is Julian--the foster brother he hasn't seen in five years.

Adam is ecstatic to be reunited. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He's still kind hearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what's really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives.
 

Review:

"Hate ricochets, but kindness does too."

I read this book late at night before bed, and honestly believe this was the best time for me to read this novel. Because it allowed me to be completely immersed in the story, in the characters, in the everything about this book.

This book pulled at all of my heart strings, and held them taut throughout most of the novel. Seriously. I was anxious about the outcome of everything that was going on. I mostly went into this book blind, which I think is also a good way to go into it. The synopsis isn't spoilery, but it does make it easier to figure out what's going on.

Adam and Julian's voices were just wrenching and raw. I loved the childlike quality in Julian's voice, and how he sounded younger (because he was). And Adam's level-headedness was very much appreciated and offered a nice contrast between the characters voices and outlook on life. I really enjoyed being in both Julian and Adam's heads but think I preferred Julian's ever so slightly. This is mostly because Julian's voice was more compelling and I just cared about him more.

This book takes you on a emotional ride through dark experiences but leaves you in a hopeful meadow. Dealing with difficult things, A LIST OF CAGES really shows the importance of friendship, of love, of hope.

It shows how Adam deals with ADHD, but doesn't delve much into it. It definitely talks about it, but it isn't the central focus so it is slightly glossed over. Which, I am actually okay with, because this story is more than about Adam's mental disorder. This story is very much about Julian and his life and how that impacts everyone around him

But it's also completely about Adam and his impact on everyone around him.

This book is really difficult to read, and that has nothing to do with the writing (which is simply really good and easy to read), and everything to do with the subject matter. This book deals with abuse, and it's powerful and killer in it's unapologetic way it deals with this subject, and does so with such careful writing.

This is a book about impacts. how the little things can change someone's life forever.

I loved Adam and Julian's brotherly relationship. It was so strong and so apparent. The boys clearly cared about each other immensely.

I also love how Roe dealt with the themes of friendship, with Adam and his friends and how they grow to love Julian just as Adam does. I especially loved Charlie, who really grew throughout the novel. I also feel like Adam's withdrawal from friends at different points felt entirely realistic, and I just adore the message this book sends.

Utterly hopeful, Robin Roe's debut sings with deep undertones, important messages, and veryintentive writing making this debut shine out amongst the rest.

Highly recommend.


Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #34

Long May She Reign


February 21st 2017

The Girl of Fire and Thorns meets The Queen of the Tearling in this thrilling fantasy standalone about one girl’s unexpected rise to power.

Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the intrigues of court. However, when an extravagant banquet turns deadly and the king and those closest to him are poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself on the throne.

Freya may have escaped the massacre, but she is far from safe. The nobles don’t respect her, her councillors want to control her, and with the mystery of who killed the king still unsolved, Freya knows that a single mistake could cost her the kingdom – and her life.

Freya is determined to survive, and that means uncovering the murderers herself. Until then, she can’t trust anyone. Not her advisors. Not the king’s dashing and enigmatic illegitimate son. Not even her own father, who always wanted the best for her, but also wanted more power for himself.

As Freya’s enemies close in and her loyalties are tested, she must decide if she is ready to rule and, if so, how far she is willing to go to keep the crown.
 

My initial thoughts will forever stand: I laughed so hard when I initially read this synopsis because like, how in the world do 23 people die in order for her to become queen? LOLOLOL

Anyways, I am super excited and I have never read anything by this author but I am very excited to make this my first!
A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!