Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #32

Feb 7th 2016 
Wintersong by S Jae Jones

Synopsis: Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

Now doesn't that sound EPIC?

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Monday, December 26, 2016

Blue Tide by Jenna-Lynne Duncan

Blue Tide
Title: Blue Tide
Author: Jenna-Lynne Duncan
Release Date: January 9th, 2017
Genre: Young Adult Adventure Romance
Source: From the author, Jenna-Lynne Duncan
Rating: 3.5 Stars
Synopsis: An award-winning YA adventure-packed romance steeped in Middle Eastern culture and set in the Asian Pacific amongst dangerous oceans and tropical islands.

Seventeen-year-old refugee Lux plots her escape from the island where her family is stranded, denying that her home was lost in the Floods. Lux is determined to get her old life back by any means possible. But before her feet even leave the sand, she's taken hostage by a vengeance-driven pirate nearly as young as she is.

Her capture is the key to his freedom...

Captain Draven’s scarf veils more than his face. Underneath, he struggles between morality and survival. When Lux sees deeper into his motivations, she’s torn. She can commit mutiny to escape to a home that may no longer exist, or she can try to help Draven escape the clutches of the person responsible for the deaths of half the world. Staying would mean entrusting her life to a pirate. Helping Draven would mean losing her heart to one.


"The essence of all experiences in love is that we don't love when we choose to, and we don't choose to when we love."

While this book was entertaining, it didn't blow me away. It is a thoroughly entertaining story with characters that are interesting, and a simple premise that leaves much room to be explored. I highly recommend if you are looking for a quick and fun read, because that's exactly what you get with this.

By far my favorite part of the story was all of the Arabic incorporated in. It was well done, and while I can't say anything about how good the incorporation of Arabic was, or how accurate the diverse portrayals were, I did myself enjoying it, and I was completely entranced in the story.

A few pros:

The storytelling was simple and easy to follow and it read SO quickly!

The character dynamics were interesting and they held a lot of interesting potential.

Liliou and Ahmed were both very interesting characters and I cannot wait to see them further explored in future installments. I also think that Draven was a character that I grew to appreciate. These characters definitely weren't two dimensional... Lux could be annoying but literally every other character made up for that. I looooved Lilou and wish we had more of her. (maybe somehow in book two?) Ahmed was my favorite character I just wish he had been fleshed out just a little more.

I really enjoyed the romance, even though it was tropey. I thought the first romance took the perfect amount of time to come to fruition. It took almost half the book and I truly appreciated it.


I did feel at times the villain(s) fell a little flat, and didn't have much driving force besides being evil.

Where was the actual pirating? Like, seriously? I really wanted some pirate fighting and some actual pirating, but I didn't really find much of that within this novel. And that's mostly my fault for expecting more than I should have. If more pirating and battles had present I would have loved this novel, instead of just really liking it.

The love triangle was completely unnecessary. It didn't need to be there. It didn't bring much character development. (I mean, a little for Lux... but she still fawned over that boy WAY too quickly.)

Other thoughts:

Were the naming's of Lux and Draven intentionally referencing League of Legends? Because that's all I could think about for the first 20% of the book... Seriously. It killed me. I laughed a lot because of it.

Overall: I was entertained but not blown away. I think this is an adequate story, with fun themes and potential for an even better sequel, because Duncan's writing is definitely strong. And she can only improve with time. Thoroughly impressed and definitely looking forward to the sequel! definitely worth your time if you are looking for a quick read with some intriguing worldbuilding and some really cool characters (and the romance is pretty fun too)


Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #31

The Edge of Everything
January 31st 2016

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #30

Caraval by Stephanie Garber Jan 31st

Caraval (Untitled, #1)

I could probably talk about my love and need for this book forever. I've already had the extreme pleasure of reading this beauty... and I do not say this lightly when I say... YOU NEED THIS BOOK.

Synopsis: Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Monday, December 12, 2016

The Falconer by Elizabeth May

The Falconer (The Falconer, #1)
Title: The Falconer
Author: Elizabeth May
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Page Count: 378
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Faeries
Rating: Entertaining
Source: Kindle Copy (influenced to purchase by Stacee!)
Links: Goodreads IndieBound Amazon Barnes & Noble
Synopsis:One girl's nightmare is this girl's faery tale

She's a stunner.
Edinburgh, 1844. Eighteen-year-old Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, has everything a girl could dream of: brains, charm, wealth, a title—and drop-dead beauty.

She's a liar.
But Aileana only looks the part of an aristocratic young lady. she's leading a double life: She has a rare ability to sense the sìthíchean—the faery race obsessed with slaughtering humans—and, with the aid of a mysterious mentor, has spent the year since her mother died learning how to kill them.

She's a murderer.
Now Aileana is dedicated to slaying the fae before they take innocent lives. With her knack for inventing ingenious tools and weapons—from flying machines to detonators to lightning pistols—ruthless Aileana has one goal: Destroy the faery who destroyed her mother.

She's a Falconer.
The last in a line of female warriors born with a gift for hunting and killing the fae, Aileana is the sole hope of preventing a powerful faery population from massacring all of humanity. Suddenly, her quest is a lot more complicated. She still longs to avenge her mother's murder—but she'll have to save the world first.

The first volume of a trilogy from an exciting new voice in young adult fantasy, this electrifying thriller combines romance and action, steampunk technology and Scottish lore in a deliciously addictive read.

Initial Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed. totally excited for the sequel.

loved Aileana! she was such a badass!

loooooooved Derrick and Gavin!

Really excited to see where this trilogy takes us!!!

Full review:

"But I've already grown so used to lying, I don't think I can do anything else."

^ Wholly relatable, Aileana.

Honestly, is this book something entirely unique? No

Does this book have stand out characters that are unforgettable? Maybe one or two.

Is this book set uniquely? Maybe? (actually not sure. Scotland isn't exactly a new place to set a novel)

Is this book something I've read before? Yes. Similar things exist in many places....

But do I care? Not really.

Because this book may not be unique and the writing isn't "blow me away good" but it still is very well written, and the characters and plot kept me intrigued. I was entertained by this novel. Enough to keep me reading. Enough to make me want to read the sequel. Enough to make me feel invested in these characters' fates. Enough to make me actually care about the fate of this world.

I loved the incorporation of fae and May did this in a way that I haven't seen before. I loved learning about them all, and I loved the little manifesto at the end that gives a more in-depth description of the fae and which ones are more dangerous and things such as that. (Plus, Derrick's comments within were as hilarious as he was within the novel)

I was so intrigued with the premise and the plot that, although there are some semi-uniteresting parts... I didn't care. I cared about the characters and their motivations. I cared about Aileana... even though she annoyed me a couple times. Not nearly as often as Kiaran did... GAH.

But I cared enough to ignore the fact that the love triangle bothered me. (And I'm only really commenting on this now) But gahh. I hate love triangles. Although it was small, and insignificant to the plot. It just seemed to be there. And both boys are actually necessary for her to reach her goal. There was something that was closer to the end that really intrigued me...

Speaking of the end, it left it so open for the sequel and that's what really makes me want to continue reading... how it ended. Because before the last 15-20% I really didn't have a lot I was over the moon in love with. A few cool sections weren't enough to have me fully invested. But authors like May know how to pull you in at the last moment and really make you care. I appreciated how she drew us in with this revenge plot. And although it stayed true to the idea, it became so much more than that.

You shouldn't turn down an offer to be cared for. Some people aren't fortunate enough to receive one."

Gavin was one of my favorite characters and I will be upset if we don't get more of him in the sequels. Derrick is lovable and snarky and sassy and everything I love in pixies (lol because I haven't read another book in recent time that have a pixie as a large character but still he's absolutely wonderful and can't wait to see more of him) Kiaran McKay isn't much more than a broody love interest. Aileana was pretty badass. And Catherine is a great friend throughout this novel and if I was in any of this situations I would need someone as strong and supportive as she is. I doubt we'll see much of her in the sequels but I sincerely hope we do.

Consensus: Tropes aside, The Falconer is an interesting novel with good writing, some steampunk mixed in lightly, and a compelling story one I think is worth a read. It's a real quick read and the side characters really make the story, at least for me.

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #29

Crave the Mark by Veronica Roth Jan 17th
Carve the Mark (Untitled Duology, #1)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Sunday, December 4, 2016

eARC Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Title: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett
Author: Chelsea Sedoti
Page Count: 398
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Rating: 5 Stars!
Source: eARC via Netgalley!
Links: Goodreads IndieBound Amazon Barnes & Noble
A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn't mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie's life. That includes taking her job... and her boyfriend. It's a huge risk — but it's just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.

(Personally think the book holds SO much more than this synopsis shows.)

Consensus: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett is a poignant, passionate, story that is both heartbreaking and hilarious, often at the same time. The story shows Hawthorn's thirst for adventure and her quest to solve her own loneliness. There are so many layers to this book and I really cannot stress how important this book is. Please read it.

I have so many things to say about The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, and many of them are completely incoherent but I am going to try my best... (I'm starting this review with my thoughts the second time through and then delving back into the incoherent thoughts of my initial read through.)

Me while reading this book:

I was sneaking pages everywhere my first time reading this!

And I was HOOKED. Completely. I hadn't intended on reading it when I picked it up in May... but a very compelling voice pulled me in and didn't let me go. It'll do the same for you.


"Cities let you blend in. There are so many people that it doesn't matter if you're weird or if no one likes you, because there's probably someone even worse off. And if you're really lucky, you might even meet people who are weird in the exact same way you are and feel like you've finally found a place where you fit in."

The second read through The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, I really paid attention to quotes, and the little things rather than the overarching story as I did the first time through... And I loved this book just as much the second time through.

Hawthorn, our main character, has such a unique and snarky voice. She is full of self-loathing and self-pity, and it can be overbearing at times. She is annoying as hell, and super selfish... throughout most of the book. But that's what makes her so great. She is real. So fucking real. I have met so many people like her... and usually the "I'm nothing special. I'm misunderstood. Nobody likes me" kind of trope is something I would make fun of... Yet for some reason, the way Hawthorn described it... I believed her. I believed in her. I believed her faults, I loved her faults, I loved the way she wished for these little inconveniences:

"I wished Mychelle and her stupid jock buddy would win the lottery and lose the ticket.
I wished they would only ever be able to take cold showers.
I wished every glass of lemonade they drank for the rest of their lives would be just a little too sour"

Hawthorn is petty af, and I adore it. I relate to this on a spiritual level. Honestly, my note while reading this part was "Petty af and I love it"

She would go from saying something super real that broke my heart like:

"What's wrong with you?" my brother asked.
"Nothing," I said, trying to calm myself with a deep breath. "Or maybe everything. It could go either way."

ME TOO HAWTHORN. ME TOO. That's why I connected so much with this book. It's not the story itself that's inherently emotional. (I mean, it is..) But it's the themes that Sedoti drives home through Hawthorn's unique narrative.

but she would go into crazy theories about werewolves, and lycanthropy and everything that really suspends this disbelief. I loved it for entirely different reasons.

There are some gem of quotes in here too:

"Confusion is like curiosity- it reminds us we're alive. To not feel confused means we no longer care. Not caring is death."

Sundog reminds me of my senior year English teacher... and I love the zen inspirational quality about his words. (Sundog is a hippie, basically)

I loved Hawthorn's character development and how she grows throughout the book. She does a lot of back and forth but still manages (in the long run) to move forward. She definitely knows who she is and I admire that.

The relationships in this book are super interesting to explore... From Emily and Hawthorn's friendship, to Hawthorn and Sundog's mentorship, to the familial dynamics of the rest of Hawthorn's family and her. They were real. The parents were present and my god do I appreciate that.

Seriously. Hawthorn was a terrible friend to Emily and I really enjoy how Sedoti explored their friendship and the ups and downs because it felt so, so real. I have personally had a friendship like that... and witnessed many others. It's real, and I think Sedoti did an excellent job portraying it on the page.

I really like this quote  and think it is the point of the story:

"You only know the part of the story people want you to see."

It's powerful! Way to go Sedoti! Your debut blew me away! I know this book is something that some readers will click with and others won't... but it totally clicked for me. Very happy to have read this... and I really hope I convinced you to read it as well :)



Hawthorn Creely is our narrator, our protagonist, our voice for this journey. The journey being the mysterious disappearance of Lizzie Lovett, glorified cheerleader, highly-praised, happy-go-luck-get-everything-she-wants-girl... and Hawthorn is borderline obsessed with her. She's obsessed with her disappearance, obsessed with things that happened before she disappeared, obsessed that she is not as good as her... It's quite annoying... yet it's all entirely understandable... if you have ever felt like Hawthorn, you understand her thought process, you understand her motivations for everything.
Hawthorn is very lonely and misunderstood, and beautiful. The loneliness really drives her. It's her motivation for just about every decision she makes. She is flawed and unreliable and she really isn't the best friend most of the time, but that's also due to the fact she doesn't always understand social cues because she has spent so much time thinking, feeling like every person is out to persecute her. Nothing is going her way. Nobody really likes her. She is having troubles with her best friend. Her family is slightly crazy.

Hawthorn puts up a façade but doesn't really do it very well. She thinks she does at time... and then quickly reverts back to complaining, and being upset. Most of the time this is justified.
And then Hawthorn starts investigating Lizzie's disappearance with none other than Lizzie's boyfriend himself. She comes up with crazy theories, and they are quite hilarious to be honest. And also really interesting. I loved them. I loved learning about her thoughts, her world. It was also great to see how Lorenzo saw her.

I disliked their friendship, but that would be my only complaint. But that was the point. I wasn't supposed to like it.

I'm trying to be vague, but I am gonna need to go to the spoilery section now


I laughed so hard at all of the crazy things that happened. The werewolf thing was insane and the fact that Enzo actually encouraged Hawthorn was insane.

I also cried my eyes out a few times. I teared up a bit when Enzo took Hawthorn's virginity. I thought it was a very fucked up thing to do. It pissed me off. I was angry. I wanted to kill him. It was just not good. It made me uncomfortable. But it was also a PHENOMENALLY written scene.

When everything is finally played out... I bawled for a good twenty minutes. I understood Hawthorn's pain. The one thing Lizzie said in the locker room Hawthorn's freshman year impacted her in the most meaningful way. I loved it. I loved how Hawthorn's pain was palpable. It killed me inside. My heart broke reading those pages.

It really put into perspective how different people cope with different things. Hawthorn talks about them hoping someone will notice. Lizzie, she... left her life behind. And my goodness did that kill me.

Hawthorn questions how somebody could possibly feel so much pain when their life is so perfect and boy did that resonate with me. I feel like my pain is unimportant sometimes, and not something that should be felt because my pain isn't enough/ as bad as somebody elses. It really feels horrible, but everyone's pain is important.


I also loved the familial dynamics in the book. Rush was honestly such a realistic brother. Also, the parents felt really real to me and I truly appreciate that. 

I also loved Emily and her friendship with Hawthorn. IT was all super realistic and showed the true meaning of friendship.


I loved Connor so so so much. His cute pet name for Hawthorn was Thorny and it was adorable and I really just wanted them to get together every single page they were on together. Some of my favorite scenes were with Connor and Hawthorn!


Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #28

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera Jan 17th
History Is All You Left Me

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #27

Windwitch by Susan Dennard January 3rd
Windwitch (The Witchlands #2)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Saturday, November 12, 2016

Book Review: Unicorn Tracks by Julia Ember

Unicorn Tracks
Title: Unicorn Tracks
Author: Julia Ember
Page Count: 180
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, F/F romance, Adventurous!
Source: Directly from the author!
Rating: 3.5 Stars!

Synopsis: After a savage attack drives her from her home, sixteen-year-old Mnemba finds a place in her cousin Tumelo’s successful safari business, where she quickly excels as a guide. Surrounding herself with nature and the mystical animals inhabiting the savannah not only allows Mnemba’s tracking skills to shine, it helps her to hide from the terrible memories that haunt her.

Mnemba is employed to guide Mr. Harving and his daughter, Kara, through the wilderness as they study unicorns. The young women are drawn to each other, despite that fact that Kara is betrothed. During their research, they discover a conspiracy by a group of poachers to capture the Unicorns and exploit their supernatural strength to build a railway. Together, they must find a way to protect the creatures Kara adores while resisting the love they know they can never indulge.


"What's bound in blood cannot be undone."

This book is a wholly original, lovely piece of work! It's super short allowing for a very quick read! (Seriously, the book is only 180 pages making it definitely worth it!)

That is my main problem with the book: The length. It is entirely too short, and I feel like given another 50-100 pages could have allowed Ember to fully flesh out these otherwise well-developed characters and maybe give us a little more look into the world we were in.

The book takes place is an African country named Nazwimbe, and has strong fantasy elements but mainly, the magical creatures. From manticores to chimeras, to the most glorious unicorn. This book is chock full of mentions of magical creatures as well as actually seeing them on the page. I really enjoyed that animals were an integral part of the book because it really brought something out that I think would of been lacking if this had only been a typical YA f/f fantasy. (Not that this genre is a typical thing.) The animals really set this apart.

I really enjoyed the diversity. Especially because Kara is described as fat multiple times and she embraces that fact. I'm always for body positivity and this book gives a little glimpse into that which I find wholeheartedly important. I also really enjoyed the chemistry between all of the characters. The dynamics felt real, and I appreciate that. Something really important to note is that although the relationship between Kara and Mnemba seemed really instalove-y (and it was...) it still felt real. And I generally don't think any form of instalove worked... it worked in this book.

I loved the romance between Kara and Mnemba because they loved each other AND each other's faults. Not despite. And I find that so important.

"Love grows over time. It's slow. It develops."

Plotwise, I wanted more. But this goes back to the length issue. There is so much more that could have been done if this book was longer. More animals, more relationship development, even more of an explanation of the cultural differences between the different countries. I think the Pits could have been shown even more. The power that this held over Mnemba could have been explored more and packed a heavier punch than it already did.

The plot we were given though, was clean and well paced. I liked the development of Kara and Mnemba from almost business partners to friends and so on and so forth. Even though it was quick, it felt natural and I liked that. I liked Kara's spunkiness, and her wish to help others. Her passion that was shown so many times throughout the novel really made me care for her. There are a few things that seemed a little to easy for the circumstances, but I am okay with it.

I loved the little baby unicorn foal. ADORABLE. I wanted more, but I mean I liked what I got.

Overall, I liked this novel a lot. I just wanted more. I wouldn't change much of what did happen in the novel... just add some more in. And honestly, cannot complain for what we were given because it's a culturally diverse fantasy novel set in non-western culture. And that alone made it special. Enter in easy-to-follow good writing, and you have a compelling and almost addicting novel.

Definitely recommend!

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #25

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti <3

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #24

Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill (December 27th)
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms, #1)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #23

Heartless by Marissa Meyer (nov 8)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #22

The Sun Is Also a Star

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

November 1st 2016

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #21

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Oct 18)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #20

The Midnight Star (The Young Elites, #3)

This week my pick is The Midnight Star by Marie Lu! The thrilling conclusion to the Young Elites trilogy!!!!

This book releases OCTOBER 11th 2016

We should all be preordering this book! Also there are preorder rewards! Just submit your receipt here!

SYNOPSIS: There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all that she’s achieved.

Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds when a new danger appears, putting not only Adelina at risk, but every Elite and the very world they live in. In order to save herself and preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

Bestselling author Marie Lu concludes Adelina's story with this haunting and hypnotizing final installment to the Young Elites series.

I don't think I can even put into words how excited I am for this book. Champion was my favorite of the Legend Trilogy... and I am expecting this to be my favorite of this trilogy. Something about the way Lu writes conclusions speaks to me! :)

Have you read Marie Lu's books? Are you as excited as I am for this release? :D

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #19

Last Seen Leaving
October 4th 2016
This week my choice is Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig!!!!

I actually already have this book (in eARC form), and should have read it by the time this post has finally posted for you all. But still, I am freaking excited.

Goodreads Synopsis: Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

1. Suspense novels, in any form, are my favorite.

2. I've heard great things from @rstrolle

3. I started this and the writing is beautiful.


5. Missing girlfriends.

6. Hey Flynn, I'm excited to see you grow into yourself.

7. I know Flynn is gay (or bi?) and I'm excited.

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Sunday Street Team: A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

This month's Sunday Street Team book is A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica Cluess!!

This is my first time participating in SST (which is hosted by the incomparable Nori at ReadWriteLove28)  and I am so excited to talk about this fiery book! :D This book features one of the most badass, strong female protagonists I have read about in a long time and she can burst into flames which is such a plus!

A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1)


4 magical stars for a magical novel!

"I know what it is to love someone so much that you would move the world only to see them smile"


So imagine trying to write a review that you had lots of opinions on... but didn't write the review right away so you're kind of kicking yourself in the butt trying to formulate your opinions coherently? This is me trying to write this review. Which I have spent a significant amount of time trying to write... But alas, the words weren't really coming to me.

And then the book was released into the world and something just burned up inside me and I know what I need to say to do this book justice. (OR DO I?)

This book is a beautiful burn of a book. Yes, alliteration is my favorite thing, that's why I'm using it. IT WAS REALLY GOOD GUYS.

This book follows Henrietta Howel as she learns to control her powers which are basically:


 and further develop them while dealing with these many boys who think they are better than her... and these Ancient's, the vicious creatures that are trying to destroy the world. GOD THE ANCIENTS ARE THE BEST FREAKING PART. THEY MAKE ME SO HAPPY IN A MORBID WAY AND I CANNOT GET ENOUGH!!!!

Henrietta is immediately likable and her journey and growth throughout the book is so realistic. (Which is really funny to say about a fantasy book lol)  I love that it's not too fast, and not too slow.

The feud between magicians being tricksters and sorcerers being the higher class chosen ones was extremely well done and I love how it all played out in the novel. It's hard to talk  about these things without giving things away, damn it...

The boys are swoonworthy af. There is definitely a potential for a love shape but honestly it didn't bother me... From Magnus to my personal favorite Dee... they are beautiful. There is something incredibly special about each boy and I'm just super proud of the way Jessica Cluess wrote these characters.

I could talk for a long time on Dee, and he wasn't even a huge part of the novel... which made me sad... because he was my favorite! Mostly because he was a redhead. (And I love redheads. One of my favorite fictional characters EVER, I'm looking at you Jude from The Darkest Minds, is a redhead. He brings me so much joy and I will bring everything back to him... :)  ) Anyways, Dee was a sweetheart and too pure for this world. And did I mention he is a redhead? :)

Anyways, the character dynamics are beautiful. I love the bickering between Magnus and Henrietta and Blackwood. I love the growth of Blackwood. He became one of the strongest and one of my favorite characters in the novel.

"you've suffered a great deal. Remember you're not the only one."

This quote angered me like no other. Mostly in context of the specific time this was uttered. I like the idea but GOD IT PISSED ME OFF I WAS SO MAD AT THE CHARACTER THAT SAID IT AHHHH.

If you haven't already realized this book made me feel so many emotions. I'm still trying to wrap my head around it in this incoherent review thing.

Literally, I don't think I can really say anything bad about this book. It was slow in parts, and dragged slightly, but overall the magic that is held within the books pages made up for any slow aspect of the book.

Honestly, my actual favorite character was ROOK. He's such a heartbreaking character and learning his story was my favorite journey that we went on. I want to know everything about him, ever. His character arc and story arc was just perfect and shattering.

The romance in this book is mostly a tease, but I actually quite like that. It was both frustrating and perfect at the same time and I really like that. I am always picky about romance. And it's generally too much for me, or not enough but I feel this worked perfectly for the novel.

I do, have a criticism... now that I think about it. I feel like the way Jessica twisted tropes was very well done but I do feel more could be done. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed this book and thought the writing was great and very true to the time period... but there was something slightly missing. A little bit of magic was missing. Just a little. And I feel bad even thinking this. But I know that the sequel will be more magical and have what I was missing in this novel.

Mostly, this book was just loads of fun that I really enjoyed reading. I can definitely see where problems of pace and originality issues could arise for some readers... but for me, I thought the enjoyable sections far outshined the slow ones.

Jessica Cluess is a phenomenal writer and storyteller and I'm highly anticipating the sequel!

Goodreads Link:

Synopsis (GR):
I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she's brought to London to train with Her Majesty's sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she's the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

About the Author:
JESSICA CLUESS is a writer, a graduate of Northwestern University, and an unapologetic nerd. After college, she moved to Los Angeles, where she served coffee to the rich and famous while working on her first novel. When she's not writing books, she's an instructor at Writopia Lab, helping kids and teens tell their own stories.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #18

Replica (Replica, #1)

October 4th 2016

This week I have chosen Replica by Lauren Oliver!!!!!!!

Goodreads Synopsis: Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she was born. 'A sickly child', her lonely life to date has revolved around her home, school and one best friend, Alice. But when she discovers her father's connection to the top secret Haven research facility, currently hitting the headlines and under siege by religious fanatics, Gemma decides to leave the sanctuary she's always known to find the institute and determine what is going on there and why her father's name seems inextricably linked to it.

Amidst the frenzy outside the institute's walls, Lyra - or number 24 as she is known as at Haven - and a fellow experimental subject known only as 72, manage to escape. Encountering a world they never knew existed outside the walls of their secluded upbringing , they meet Gemma and, as they try to understand Haven's purpose together, they uncover some earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls forever...

1. OMG! The fact that this book can be read so many different ways gives me so much enjoyment.

2. I can't wait to meet these characters.

3. I've always wanted to read a Lauren Oliver novel.

4. Adam Silvera loved this and I love him,

5. I cannot wait to meet Lyra who seems intriguing.

6. And Gemma who seems wonderful.

7. I just, yes. So excited. It sounds great.

BUY IT HERE: Amazon Barnes & Noble The Book Depository
A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #17

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)
September 27th 2016
This week I have chosen the highly anticipated (by all) Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo!!!

Not only did the first book hold some of my highest ranking OTPs. The suspenseful writing and gripping action topped off with complex immoral characters brings together a beautiful beginning to what will soon become my favorite duology.

Goodreads Synopsis: Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world

1. Short and sweet and exciting as hell. I love this synopsis.


3. I'm hoping for some more (I actually don't know the ship names yet?) but more of all of it. Every one of them. Have funnn. Because I love you.

4. Kaz is badass. Inej is even more badass. Nina is heart wrenching *badoom tssss*. Matthias is freaking wonderful. I love Wylan's "innocence." I love Jesper's freaking everything. I adore every freaking character soooo damn much.




8. MORE GRISHAA! (Writing this in July really makes me want to finally read Siege & Storm and Ruin & Rising finally...!)


A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #16

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire (Untitled, #1)

September 26th 2016

This week I have chosen Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge!

Goodreads Synopsis: When the mysterious fog of the Ruining crept over the world, the living died and the dead rose. Only the walled city of Viyara was left untouched.

The heirs of the city’s most powerful—and warring—families, Mahyanai Romeo and Juliet Catresou share a love deeper than duty, honor, even life itself. But the magic laid on Juliet at birth compels her to punish the enemies of her clan—and Romeo has just killed her cousin Tybalt. Which means he must die.

Paris Catresou has always wanted to serve his family by guarding Juliet. But when his ward tries to escape her fate, magic goes terribly wrong—killing her and leaving Paris bound to Romeo. If he wants to discover the truth of what happened, Paris must delve deep into the city, ally with his worst enemy . . . and perhaps turn against his own clan.

Mahyanai Runajo just wants to protect her city—but she’s the only one who believes it’s in peril. In her desperate hunt for information, she accidentally pulls Juliet from the mouth of death—and finds herself bound to the bitter, angry girl. Runajo quickly discovers Juliet might be the one person who can help her recover the secret to saving Viyara.

Both pairs will find friendship where they least expect it. Both will find that Viyara holds more secrets and dangers than anyone ever expected. And outside the walls, death is waiting. . .


2. I haven't actually read Romeo and Juliet but I am a sucker for retellings of the story. I hope this twists it on its head.


4. The cover reminds me of a cult/secret society and I actually adore plots that include that aspect especially when they do it creepily and well written. I've heard good things about Hodge's other works. I have not yet read any of it.

5. I cannot pronounce these names whatsoever but I honestly do not care. I am excited!

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Saturday, September 3, 2016

Mini-Review: The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter

The First Time She Drowned
Title: The First Time She Drowned
Author: Kerry Kletter
Page Count:
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Stars!
Source: The Library! <3
Links: Goodreads IndieBound Amazon Barnes & Noble The Book Depository
Synopsis: Cassie O’Malley has been trying to keep her head above water—literally and metaphorically—since birth. It’s been two and a half years since Cassie’s mother dumped her in a mental institution against her will, and now, at eighteen, Cassie is finally able to reclaim her life and enter the world on her own terms.

But freedom is a poor match against a lifetime of psychological damage. As Cassie plumbs the depths of her new surroundings, the startling truths she uncovers about her own family narrative make it impossible to cut the tethers of a tumultuous past. And when the unhealthy mother-daughter relationship that defined Cassie’s childhood and adolescence threatens to pull her under once again, Cassie must decide: whose version of history is real? And more important, whose life must she save?

A bold, literary story about the fragile complexities of mothers and daughters and learning to love oneself, The First Time She Drowned reminds us that we must dive deep into our pasts if we are ever to move forward.


Me before reading this book:

viceland  eddie huang viceland lets do this huang's world

Me while reading this book:
natalie portman natalie heartbroken youre breaking my heart

Me after finishing this book:
vintage life pink now bed

this book was like the scene in a movie where the water slowly rises as a character is trying to escape from a dangerou situation except that scene lasts an entire book.

This book follows Cassie O'Malley as she is leaving this psych ward and entering the everyday world once again. she is going to college at Dutton, the college her mother went to.

and this book tells a story of Cassie and her mother. and everything that entails.

it is heartbreaking.

it is hopeful.

it is a rush of water pulling you under the current.

it is finding oneself even in the darkest of times.

it is everything.

it is a slow, slow burn if soulcrushing beauty that I want everyone to read.

and it dragged a little in the middle, but it's so forgivable because these words are so heartbreaking. The relationship between Cassie and her mother reminded me of the relationship between Maddy and her mother in Everything, Everything... except to me, this is a much darker tale of a mother/daughter relationship.

Absolutely recommend!

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #15

A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1)

September 20th 2016

This week I have chosen a BEAUTIFUL book...

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess!!!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.
Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.
As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city--and the one she loves?

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess's spellbinding fantasy introduces Henrietta Howel, a powerful, unforgettable heroine, and an entertaining world filled with magic, monsters, and mayhem.

1. This book first caught my attention when Adam Silvera posted that he wanted this book so badly that he would burst into flames to get it (or something along those lines) and so I was curious... and then I laughed when I read the synopsis and saw what this beauty was going to be about!



4. Demons, Bloodthirsty, Sorcerers, Deception, Magic, Monsters, and Mayhem! AHHHH


6. I've heard about a love square? I'm okay with this. When well written I actually love it.

7. Spellbinding is like my bread and butter. Say it and it will catch my attention and make me most likely want to read that book.

8. Also, Jessica Cluess is so sweet. I have interacted with her on twitter a few times and it makes me THAT much more excited to read the book! (Which by the time this has posted I will have most likely read this! A review should be going up soon!)

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #14

Three Dark Crowns (Untitled, #1)
September 20th 2016

This week I have chosen Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake!!

Goodreads Synopsis: Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless revenge haunting the queens’ every move, one thing is certain: the last queen standing might not be the strongest…but she may be the darkest.

1. This is MY type of book. Naturalists. Elementals. Poisoner. I love the concept of triplet queens.


3. I just want to see all of the queens battle it out.

4. I love the name Arsinoe. SO unique!

5. Yay for dark books which are my favorite.

6. I'm really just excited for Arsinoe. And everything else but ESPECIALLY Arsinoe!

BUY IT HERE:  Amazon Barnes & Noble The Book Depository

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post our most anticipated releases!

Saturday, August 20, 2016

The Rose & The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2)
Title: The Rose & the Dagger
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Page Count:
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Retellings
Rating: 4.75 Stars!
Source: The library <3
Links: Goodreads  IndieBound Amazon Barnes & Noble The Book Depository
Synopsis: The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.


"I swore I would spend my life showing those I loved how I felt, and never resorting to words. I promised I would do for others what I'd failed to do for her. Not to profess love. But instead act upon it."

The Rose and The Dagger is everything good about The Wrath and the Dawn except to me, executed 10000000x better.

love heart book i love you gravity falls

Now don't get me wrong, they are both beautifully written and constructed books with rich fleshed out characters, swoon-worthy romance, and magic beyond any other....

But ROSE was SOOOOO much more my style. They are both such different, unique books and if you had a little more background info before ROSE, I almost feel like you could read this without the first one. (Okay, I lie, this is probably not the case, I just love ROSE infinitely more.)

There is something about this book. The writing is as addicting and lively as WRATH but there was something so much more appealing about it to me. I ADORED every last word.

dmitterhofer  love cute adorable sweet

"Sometimes the family you choose is stronger than blood."

In this book Irsa, Shazi's younger sister plays a much more central role, and I LOVED her in WRATH, so this was such a shining moment of brilliance in my opinion. Everything that involved Irsa was so right.

This whole book meshed with me so damn well. From the new characters to the old characters and all of the changes that are held within the walls of this novel... ITS SO BEAUTIFUL.

Words fail to explain the beauty and the serenity of Ahdieh's words. Even if you do not like her books, you cannot deny that her writing is definitely distinguishable from all other authors today. She has a very unique and powerful voice. Poignant. Strong.

The characters in Renee's world are BEYOND BELIEF in their strength, and reality. Which totally sounds contradictory but it makes sense in the best of ways.

I loved the focus on the magical book and Shazi and Irsa's Baba's obsession with it. It offered another level to the novel besides the expected war between Khorasan and the rest of the country. (For whatever reason I am completely blanking on the name at the moment.)

AND GUESS WHAT?!? I LIKED TARIQ IN THIS NOVEL. I LIKED HIM. I couldn't care less about him in WRATH but I thought he offered such beautiful contrast and strength in this novel that I was so happy to have him a part of it all.

foxtv  omg shocked sdcc2016 kristen schaal

There are so many swoons in this book! It is not as romance heavy or as steamy as WRATH and that may be why it's more my style because this had the PERFECT amount of romance for me! Khalid and Shazi are just perfect <3 but the real love story lies with her younger sister. <3 <3 <3

I honestly cannot recommend this book enough to everyone. To me, it was VASTLY better than WRATH and feel it deserves ALL the praise!

To close this review, here are some QUOTES!

Beware of  spoilers of plot points. Nothing THAT insane, but yes, spoilers.

"I wish you would not be so stubborn." "And I wish you had not jumped before and arrow last night. But wishes are for genies and the fools who believe in such things."  I laughed so hard at this. But also *paiiiiiiin*
sad pain sadness michael j fox heartbreak

"Be the beginning and the end, Shahrzad al-Khayzuran. Be stronger than everything around you. Make all our many sacrifices woth it."  HELL YES.

"Make sure she never feels lonely. That she always feels loved." *CRIES*

dog heart year try cries

"It does not take courage to kill. It takes courage to live." *LOOOOOVE*