Sunday, April 23, 2017

SST: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Welcome to my stop of Sunday Street Team! This month we are featuring GIRL OUT OF WATER by Laura Silverman!

Through this post I have made a list about my thoughts regarding each character plus accompanying AESTHETICS because they're fun!! :D [Most of the aesthetics are for the characters though a few vary just a little :) ]

Girl Out of Water

Girl Out Of Water, Laura Silverman's debut, is a coming-of-age story that follows Anise as she is thrust away from the Pacific Ocean, Santa Cruz California and her home, in the surf. Through the novel we really get to see how pain, loss, and love affect Anise in the best and worst of ways.

I loved reading this book and the moment I started it, I was hooked. I was immersed in the story and ready to go on this adventure with Anise. From the moment we met her, I knew she was going to be a character I am never going to forget. There is something about her that just makes her so real. I think it might be the way she deals with her emotions and her problems, they are so utterly relatable and I'm so thankful that Laura wrote this book, and that she told Anise's story.

The love of surfing is so palpable and it made me want to surf. I am so NOT athletic that for a book to really make me want to feel the way an athletic character does... is really good in my book.

Not only is Anise a real character... so are allllll of the other character. I like lists so here's a list for you....

girl surfer                                                                                                                                                                                 More:  Fiji Surfer Girl, print from original watercolor fashion illustration by Jessica Durrant. This is really cool. I wish I was good at water color.:  Take Me To The Ocean  Women's Shirts  Surfer Girl  by PowderAndSea:  Coastal Style: Surfer Girl Style:

Emery- Our 13-and-a-half year old daughter of Aunt Jackie who Anise develops a big connection with.

- She is waaaay more mature.
- Totally just really cool.
- I understand how she feels with her friends in one point in the novel.
- I really just love her.
- She has so much more depth than most youngsters have and I really appreciate that.
- She kind of reminds me of me at that age.

reading ✧  I Shop books at Books + Rec Shoppe  ik it sounds stupid but i really wanna learn to skate cause ive always wanted to learn an ollie, kickflip, 360 etc . if you know a pro plz contact me i really really wanna learn:  

Nash & Parker - Lovable twins

- One of them is super philosophical
- The other makes reaaaally poor decisions.
- Well, kind of.
- I forget which is which tbh but I love them both
- The skate park scenes are wonderful.
- There's a quote I marked from one of them that might be my favorite thing in the entire book.

"But bad things are infinite, right?" he asks.
"What do you mean?"
"Well, just because Mom got into an accident it doesn't mean she can't get into another one, right? One bad thing doesn't stop more from happening."
My heart clenches, as my mind whirs for some kind of comfort to share. He's right. Bad things are infinite. But I kiss his head and hug him tighter and say, "That's true, but you know what else is true?"
"Good things are infinite too."

There is something so real, so hopeful about this passage that really spoke and stood out to me.
- There is a moment with one twin that broke my little heart.

 It's two Tootie Waynes!!!...Thank you Queenie!!! :): Caballero. Sunset frontside wall ride on the monolith at Lake Cunningham skatepark. photo by Potwin 2009:

Lincoln - Umm, he's perfect?

- Except he's not.
- But I love him so freaking much.
- He's African American
- He has one arm (and it's explained why)
- His disability was NOT his only personality trait!
- Thank you so much, Laura!
- Honestly, he's such a wickedly charming fella
- Here's an example: "Memory of steel, another one of my many amazing talents." "Your modesty is overwhelming." "So is my smile."
- He has an arrogance that is definitely attractive.
- I finally understand why some people find arrogance/confidence attractive
- I just needed to meet Lincoln.
- He truly cares about Anise, and I love that.
- He's just so pure.

character inspiration:  "I used the Light 36 Gauge Enchantment copper on a commercial bar top and was very pleased with the results. It was easy to apply and with the reassuring help from Color Copper's customer service, the two part epoxy was fool proof." /  Mark Baker  Panther Pub - Panther Valley, New Jersey:

See this Instagram photo by @instagood • 4,161 likes:

Aunt Jackie - She's the reason that Anise is put in this situation
- I'm glad she expresses gratitude.
- The main scene between her and Anise is superb.
- Her situation TERRIFIED me so many times throughout the novel.
- "Saying a problem out loud doesn't fix it... but maybe, just maybe, it starts to help."

hospital cash back cover,

Road Trip :: Seek Adventure :: Explore With Friends :: Summer Travel :: Gypsy Soul :: Chase the Sun :: Discover Freedom :: Travel Photography :: Free your Wild :: See more Untamed Road Trip Destinations + Inspiration @untamedelemnts:

Tess- the ultimate best friend.
- So glad she keeps it real with Anise
- She was really there when nobody else was.
- I really admire her.
- Her honesty is SUPERB
- I also like that she wasn't perfect.
- She also said this "Don't be a snob, dude. A good book is a good book." BLESS YOU TESS

First Time with a Highlander (Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands) by Gwyn Cready  Atlantis:

Eric- I really felt for this dude

- He seems super nice
- I would have liked another scene or two with him
- Understandable why there isn't though
- Everything between him and Anise felt super real.

Very Long Cool Straight Hairstyle ~  I just got this board and I think this is a really cool photo showing the back side. It's an Arbor longboard with a side view map of Cali on it.:

- Even though we saw her for only a few pages
- I feel like I've known her my whole life.
- I'd love a novel just about her tbh
- And we can have Lincoln and Anise make an appearance
- Or go back to when Lincoln and Wendy were in school together
- But seriously, that scene was one of my favorites

this brunch looks fantastic!:  The Nebraska Sandhills -
Carmel Beach and Cyprus, Carmel-by-the-Sea, California:

My favorite scene of the entire novel was probably when Anise and Lincoln were at the pub in Reno... I don't think I can express how terrifically paced and written that scene was. Simply, wow!
I really don't have any complaints. I really love this novel. And I know you guys will too.

There's a lot of special within this book. Just open your eyes, and read!

Hope you enjoyed this post! Keep reading! There's a giveaway below!

Goodreads Link:

Preorder Links:
Barnes & Nobles:
Book Depository:

Social Media:

Synopsis (GR):
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

About the Author:
Laura received her MFA in writing for children from the New School. She loves books and dogs—okay, and quite a few people too. She currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia. You can say hello on Twitter at @LJSilverman1.

Rafflecopter Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour host stop links:

4/16 Tour Blogs Stops
Interview - Pretty Deadly Blog
Review -  Sarcasm and Lemons
Interview -  Curly Hair Bibliophile
interview - Hopeful Reads
Mood board & Review - Here's to Happy Endings
Review -  Book Nerd Addicts

4/23 Tour Blogs Stops
Aesthetics Post - Roecker Reviews
Interview - Awkwordly Emma

4/30 Tour Blogs Stops
Graphics Inspired Quotes -  The Cozy Little Book Nook
Interview -  Tattooed Pages  
Review -  Crazy for YA


  1. OMG! THIS, THIS IS AMAZING and BEAUTIFUL!!!! I love how you capture all the feels from the book SO WELL!!!! This is amazing! Thanks so much for being part of the tour. xoxo

  2. Thank you for this awesome post! I'm so excited to read this book.

  3. Yesss this is an awesome aesthetic post! I love the pictures you posted for each character. :D Anise was so daring, and full of love and loyalty towards her rambunctious family, which I loved. And OMG - that quote! Absolutely perfect (heart aching as well.)

    LINCOLN WAS MY ABSOLUTE FAVE. His dialogue was just freaking charming and I can't say no to a boy in glasses. Seriously. All the love to this skateboarder, and the way he helped Anise open up past her fear for travel (or running away). Amazing post!

    - Aila @ One Way Or An Author